We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hurst Castle - Key to England's Sea Defences” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurst Castle

Hurst Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the New Forest National Park, Hurst Castle is situated on the seaward end of the shingle spit that extends 1.5 miles from Milford-on-Sea, Hampshire. Built by Henry VIII as a chain of fortresses to protect the Solent in 1544, this is the site where Charles I was imprisoned in 1648 before being taken to his trial and execution in London. The castle was modernised during the Napoleonic wars and again in the 1870s when the enormous armoured wings were added, making it the largest coastal fort in the world. Two of the huge 38-ton guns installed in the 1870s can be viewed in their casemates together with other weapons developed through 412 years of military use. During World War II, Hurst was manned with coastal gun batteries and searchlights. You can get to Hurst Castle by ferry from Keyhaven Quay (sat nav postcode: SO41 0TP) or you can walk along the shingle Hurst Spit.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hurst Castle - Key to England's Sea Defences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hurst Castle was built between 1541 and 1544 by Henry VIII and was part of a chain of artillery fortresses protecting key ports and landing places around southern England. It has been modernized over the years and is now run and maintained by English Heritage. We walked there along the spit and then got the ferry back which is a fun trip on its own. It's a fascinating place with plenty of things fro the kids to look at and get into. The old Tudor Castle and later 12.5 inch guns. A good family afternoon out!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    316
    66
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Took Ages to look round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

There are two ways to get to this place, walk 2.5 miles along a shingle causeway or catch the ferry in which you have to pay both ways.

This castle needs some investment in information plaques and tour guides would be useful. Having said that this is definetly a place to visit if only to lose your partner or family. It is vast and the health and safety people would probably have a heart attack in the fact that you can go underground to the dungeons and down very dark staircases with no lights. We loved it! Take a torch if you want to try some of the darker places and good walking shoes. You are going to need them. Its very easy to either take yourself back to the second world war or further back than that. £4.50 entrance fee is worth it. Explore, explore.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Dont pay the ferryman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We took the slow boat to take in the views and rest our weary legs, offering great views of all the sailing activities taking part.

We explored the castle and its many dark and dank rooms and roof top views across to the Isle of the Wight.

Great for kids to explore, and adults to get a tea and coffee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas_familiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating step back in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved our visit to the castle. Our son was particularly interested in Henry VIII's castle and the situation of the castle is stunning. You either walk along a shingle spit from Milford on Sea or take a ferry, which we did, from Keyhaven.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel94_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Missing some info”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

So much history in this Castle. There is a lot to see, but sadly not much information on display. It would have been nice to see information plaques on more of the rooms and doors so we could learn a bit more about what went on in the castle through the years. There were rooms where I had no idea what went on, or what had been done to fill in archways etc. My kids were fascinated, but we all came away feeling a bit ill informed. There were curved railway tracks that went under recent walls but there was nothing to explain why or what they had been used for. It was a lovely visit and great to see the original castle with all the extensions and additions, but a bit more information would be great. Definitey worth a trip, but if you want to know all about the history, you will need to research quite hard.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurst Castle also viewed

 

Been to Hurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing