We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Perle

La Perle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: La Perle is a small family-run restaurant, where the menu is completely governed by the British seasons and what can be source locally. 'Seasonal - Local - Ethical' is our motto, with over 90% of our produce sourced from sustainable suppliers based in Hampshire and Dorset.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We managed to book a table for the same night thankfully, after just arriving in Milford. Had earmarked this place as it had good reviews on tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. It was a tuesday which meant 'moules and frites night' (sounds better than mussels and chips) which my wife took advantage of and assured me were excellent (I won't touch the things). I went for a fillet steak which was cooked to perfection and served with oyster mushrooms, truffle mash and baby onions which all complemented each other beautifully. I told my wife it was probably in my top 3 steaks I've ever had but while I was in the bathroom, she got talking to the chef who was on walkabout and told him it was the 3rd best steak I'd ever had. Not got quite the same ring to it. Throughout, service was excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    109
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant truly is a little gem. We were walking by the night before & stopped to have a look at the menu & ended up chatting to the owner/chef Leo. My friend asked about lobster & Leo ordered it in specially for us. The ambience, food, staff & service were all excellent. Kate looked after us so well & clearly is passionate about food. I look forward to coming again !!!

Helpful?
Thank ZenaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real gem in Milford-on-Sea....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The little village of Milford-on-Sea is rapidly transforming itself into a New Forest ‘foodie hotspot’ around its charming village green. The La Perle restaurant is a sparkling addition to this scene serving a fresh and innovative melange of ‘French style recipes’ using the best of local Hampshire produce. The menu is sensibly not too long and well priced offering an interesting selection of dishes including local meat, a game dish, fresh fish and shellfish and innovative vegetarian options. My partner is ‘lactose intolerant’ and this was carefully communicated by the waitress and easily accommodated by the chefs. The fixed price main course lunch menu offers very attractive value, including a glass of house wine or an alternative drink. My partner opted for the fillet of bream with fennel confit, tapenade and char-grilled vegetables and I chose the escalope of veal Viennese with tomato chutney and spring vegetables. Ok we needed a side of Pont de Neuf potatoes to make the complete meal, but hey ho it was worth it. Both dishes were well cooked, tasted great, served hot and presented beautifully on the plate. Add to this some delicious breads and the glass of wine (included) and you’re looking at the perfect lunch in my book. Give it a try and discover a real gem in the forest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 215neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow, first time we have been to Le Perle and certainly will not be the last. Everything perfect. I do not usually have a dessert but simply felt I must at least try something as every other dish had been just outstanding, so went for the Earl grey chocolate ganache....this is a must. Our waitress Kate was a delight, friendly and very helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decidedly Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I went there for dinner with a family member who had a good experience when they went for lunch. However, whilst the staff were pleasant the meal was poor and unimaginative. I had fish (plaice) and afterwards I felt a bit queasy. Perhaps it is better for lunch, but I wouldn't go back and neither will the family member I was with...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Boxa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Perle also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to La Perle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing