We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap food, slow service”

Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap food, slow service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There were quite few coffee streets along the high street but we thought we would go for this one as it looked nice and traditional. However when we arrived it took us ages to be served as there was only one waitress for the whole cafe.

The coffee was probably among the worst I've had. When the baguettes came, they tasted and looked as if they had been made with the cheapest possible ingredients. Almost a 'school packed' with a big slab of margarine and a scattering of soggy crisps. When we looked in the drinks fridge, we could see that everything had been bought at lowest possible cost from the supermarket. It's nice to have something quality every now and then.

Although this put us off, we wanted to try one of the nice looking cakes in the window, however it took so long for our empty plates to be cleared that we no longer wanted to sit there any more. It was a slightly depressing atmosphere. Left feeling disappointed we hadn't tried one of the other cafés. For the amount we paid as well we felt hard done by. I don't think the only positive about a cafe should be the complimentary 'lotus' biscuit with the drink.

Sorry for the poor review but I left wanting to warn others not to make the same mistake we did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank someguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we disappointed you. We obviously try to please all our customers and on this occasion it's sad to know we failed. I assure you this was below the standard expected and generally received by our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How NOT to encourage repeat custom”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Reasonably priced, pleasant tearoom, friendly waitresses, but the owner!
Here's a hint matey. Civility is part of what we are paying for.
Just because you've turned around your sign on the door to "Closed" doesn't mean that people have got to hurry up and get out, smartish. You've taken our order for tea and cakes, and we are entitled to consume them at reasonable speed, without you standing staring and sighing with your hands on your hips!
Reading the reviews below, I see this is not unusual behaviour, but clearly you are a slow learner.
Foolish, very foolish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great little Tea Room”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We visited while on holiday recently having in the past only looking in the window while passing by, only once years ago popping in to buy cakes or something.
This time we decided to go in for a drink and were glad we did, it's nice little tearoom with a decent amount of space around the tables so you don't feel crowded out. We had 2 coffees and 1 tea with a toasted tea cake each which were very nice although one of the tea cakes was a bit dark, although as this was not brought to the attention of the waitress we can't really complain about it now.
The staff seemed quite efficient and friendly.
When in the area again we will definitely make a return visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gryzor1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. Sorry about your teacake, we can toast them less if you wish. Please ask. It's no problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Village tea room.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just made a return visit to Polly's , this time for lunch. The place was nearly full, and there was a friendly, chatty ambience. We ordered our jacket potatoes which were beautifully cooked, and generously filled, accompanied by a small side salad and coleslaw. Very enjoyable and reasonably priced.
We had previously been there for morning coffee and delicious cakes, having been made very welcome by the staff. Many of the customers at that time seemed to be regular visitors, being greeted by name as they entered, which is always a good recommendation for a village establishment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your kind comments. They are much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Tea Room”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely "cuppa" and tea cake here on 16th Oct 2013. Pleasant surroundings. Very friendly young waitress. I also observed she was very helpful to another customer who needed some assistance - nice to see. Well done. Reasonable prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Creeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. They are much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Polly's Pantry Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing