We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overcooked food”
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overcooked food”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed in Milford for the weekend and this pub was recommended. It is a lovely pub with very friendly staff. I ordered the fish and chips which proved not good value for the money. Whilst the chips were fine but the batter on the fish was dark brown in colour clearly showing it had been in the fryer for too long and the peas looked as if they had been cooked last week, very disappointing, should have complained but didn't. As my friends thoroughly enjoyed their meals it was agreed to return the next evening. I ordered the plaice and smoked salmon roulade with new potatoes and a dill sauce and I can report was delicious so would recommend this restaurant but steer clear of the fish and chips as very bad value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonroe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    202
    78
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cold overcooked food!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Until my trip to the smugglers inn I didn't think it was possible to make a bad baguette! The sausages were cheap, dry and overcooked...I suspect just re-heated and the chips were cold and dry. What a disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vbarnes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Above average pub menu”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Plenty of daily specials, and a few regular favourites. Central village location and plenty of garden space outside. Recommend the fish pie!


Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A nice pub”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We only had a few drinks in the garden, which was pleasant enough. The food did look better than your average pub grub.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends & family”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Lovely lunch outside on a beautiful sunny summer's afternoon. Perfect spot for the kids with a safe playground area & space for the dog. Good food & value for money. Hooray, finally I can be positve about a pub lunch. Highly recommend as in a handy situation for the coast & key haven. If wet, inside looked spacious & inviting. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Sarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing