We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub”
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Food was very good. all you want from a good pub. great parking and location. we would return if in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMonkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    197
    77
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice playgrund, but no service”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited on a bank holiday sunday, so the place was nearly full. Since we did not have a reservation, we wer given the choice to sit outside, which was acceptable. Once outside, though, we were totally ignored.

If you get serviced, the playground for the kids is very nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sullen staff average food ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The staff were a bit sullen but the big problem was the food. The steak and kidney pie was like a cheap brake bros product. The chips were McCain oven chips or something just as tasteless.
My wife's chilli had hardly any meat. My daughter's mac cheese tasted like it came from a tin. The cost was just under £30 not including drinks. We won't be back anytime soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paulus302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4 trips in 12 nights!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed in the area for a camping holiday and found this restaurant on day 4, by the time we had left we had been 4 times - the facilities are lovely and the food was amazing. There is a good sized garden with a play are for older children then a fenced off area for toddlers. The service is fast - I think the longest we waited was on a Sunday evening, and even then it was only 30 mins at most. It is unusual for all four of us to enjoy all of our meals every time but the Smugglers Inn managed it - I would personally recommend the mussels.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“ A Good Village Pub but Staff Need A Personality Check”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I ve visited The Smugglers many times throughout the years and saw a few great live bands play there too when they used to have gig nights, this was probably my 1st visit for 6 years and although we didnt eat here so I cant comment on their food I can certainly say their bar staff could do with a personality check . Dont they realise that apart from their locals the majority of their trade are holiday makers who expect to be treated with at least the crack of a smile. Miserable !!

Helpful?
4 Thank Dagenhamdave1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing