We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayflower(Lymington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Passford House(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa(New Milton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
339
207
95
42
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
339
207
95
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestover hallsea viewisle of wightbeautiful buildingsuperior roomcopper bathresident catarts and craftslilac roomhotel catcountry housesun roomoriginal featurespub foodvictorian mansionsteak and ale piethe main hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed for a grown up get away, 2 nights on a weekend.
First impressions are fab - beautiful building, fantastic hall with double height ceiling and wood panelling.
Room 5 was huge – with half tester bed (which was a bit creaky!), and fab views across the lawn to the sea and the Isle of Wight beyond.
Parts of the hotel had seen better days (eg windows), but it’s an old building by the sea, so it’s going to suffer a little.
Ate in on Friday night, menu is simple and perhaps does not show off the true talents of the kitchen.
Bar man (French I think) was very friendly and helpful – Merci!
Breakfast was really good – simple cold cereals/fruits/juice’s followed by a great cooked breakfast. We were never offered any toast on either day – odd!
With a few menu and bedroom improvements, this could rank as a really great hotel. Having said that, the price would probably go up – so let’s leave it as it is – eat down the road at the Raft and stick to breakfast here.
Will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Room 5......massive room, half tester bed, sofa, great views - bath big enough for two!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69Stephen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A wonderful place to stay. We did book a superior room complete with separate dressing area and a impressive en-suite. Breakfast was superb as was the evening meals so no complaints about the food. As there is only 14 rooms there is an exclusive feel to the place , especially walking through the wood panelled hall and up the stairs to be greeted by a view overlooking the Isle of Wight. Within a 20 drive to the New Forest and 4 miles from Lymington, so treat your loved one! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Driving by and looking for somewhere to stop off for lunch. We pulled up and thought it unlikely looking at the building that we could have a quick bite for lunch. Looked far too grand, but to our pleasant surprise we could. We were warmly welcomed by friendly staff and shown into a large airy room with truly amazing views of The Isle Of Wight. Food great, beautifully presented and reasonably priced too. I understand there are rooms here too. Certainly glad we stopped.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louxloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Great views to IOW, in period building, friendly helpful staff, good food, nearly every table booked on each occasion we have visited. In the summertime nothing could be better than sitting out on the patio. Furniture needs some updating but I would prefer this to the cold minimalistic restaurants so in vogue now.

Room Tip: We only ate in hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Being a local and having visited this venue several times already since its recent re-launch I can say with some certainty that they have got the concept right and it's proving to be a very popular place to eat and relax - so popular in fact that every table was fully booked for Sunday lunch recently and the car park always looks busy.

However, although the food is pretty good standard pub fare and the views are outstanding, the service leaves quite a lot to be desired (especially recently) and I've noticed that although they've not long been open as a pub, there's already been a noticeable reduction in some of the portion sizes (or more accurately the yummy bits that come with most dishes i.e. chips, curly fries, wedges etc), despite the prices remaining the same.

For instance one of our group recently had the spare ribs, which was around £8-9. The ribs themselves were apparently very tasty but it was an absolute joke to see that the plate contained 3 lonely potato wedges!! And I heard a table nearby make the same comment!! And I'm sure the pile of delicious curly fries on my plate had got a fair bit smaller than the last time when I was very impressed.

Seriously, if you want people to keep coming back please don't start scrimping on the things like that that fill up hungry tummy's and cost you next to nothing. I've heard this mentioned several times now by different people. There are plenty of other great places to eat in Milford and people will more than happily go somewhere else to get better value if you start reducing the main reason to visit i.e. "good pub grub".

I think there's still a degree of novelty to this place and I know a number of locals have been several times having had really nice meals at average pub prices to start with but are now starting to think that they're maybe cutting back a bit on portion sizes and aiming more at the visitors market.

I think we'll give them another chance because it's a nice place but PLEASE listen to this feedback and pile the plates nice and high with chips and wedges and don't give people reasons to start pondering value for money otherwise winter may well become a bit quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eternal_optimist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews