We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but could & should be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Lechlade
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK but could & should be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here when it was the Westover & it had a fabulous fine dining restauarant which is sadly no more. Our room was spacious & clean but the bathroom needed some TLC. We didn't eat dinner here as it reminded us more of a chain style pub than a welcoming restaurant. breakfast was OK but a fairly limited choice & the staff seemed under pressure. It's basically Ok for a short stay but there are better options in the vicinity. We were atbthe front of the hotel & woken early by the bin men!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    169
    82
    37
    19
See reviews for
127
341
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

spent one night at this hotel for the sum of £150.the room hand ent seen a hover or carpet cleaner for a long long time. the mould in the shower was disgusting.stains on all the tops the draws were falling a part .a need to dust and clean the cob webs from the windows would of been nice.breakfast was good.was not asked by the manager if we enjoyed the stay poor customer care.not worth the money

Room Tip: go to a good hotel not this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaveSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had two rooms, one in the main house and one in the annexe-both equally good. Helpful staff. Comfortable beds, nice linen. A couple of minor details could be improved. It's a bit annoying to have a tea tray with only cream (not milk) available -yuk! Earl Grey tea bags would have been nice as well-there was every other variety and no shortage of Earl Grey at breakfast! Breakfast was delicious and loads of choice. Another minor point (manager please note)- staff shouldnt clear finished plates when one diner is still eating!
Plumbing was a bit noisy in the morning-but that added to the charm! I felt like I was in an Agatha Christie story!
Other nice touches-help yourself to fresh fruit at the front desk.
Would definitely book again if returning to this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleyg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Pro's - stayed in annexe room which was clean with good facilities, flatscreen tv and wet room/bathroom. Breakfast was very good and serving staff very efficient. Great views of The Needles and Isle of Wight coastline

Con's - no telephone in room when it clearly says in hotel information book there is. Bar area not very inviting with glasses covering half the bar top. Each function room e.g breakfast room & lounge had squeegee bottles of cleaner and soiled cloths on show.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank saltyb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I think some reviewers are being unfair. This is not a top notch hotel but it is much better than average. Our (standard double) room was very good and clean. The bar was satisfactory at best but I liked the restaurant and the evening meal was much better than the "pub standard" quoted by other reviewers. I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelloFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

we have just stayed there it was clean and friendly. it definatley needs a refurbisment as its very tired and worn, the are only two chairs that are comfortable and they were in the lobby all other chairs were hard. the parking has a lot to be desired though, as there is no propper parking for guests, if you leave the hotel you will be lucky if you can find a space when you return. food not bad but that depends on which chef is on duty.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Have stayed before so expectations high. Booked 3 nights and had a beautiful room with sea view. Bed was very comfortable, but the windows were very dirty and spoilt the view. Bathroom clean but toilet bowl needed bleach. The evening meal which was fine, but dining room felt very much like a pub with sticky tables, uncomfortable chairs and a pub menu. The patio was covered in cigarette butts and there wasn't a pot or bowl of flowers anywhere. Felt staff worked hard to please but the owners need to decide whether they are a good quality hotel, as their prices reflect such, or a pub. All in all, it's a beautiful building with history so needs a little more respect. Sorry but won't be staying there again which is such a shame as the area is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing