We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have eaten there twice now and have mixed feelings. The bar is covered in glasses which isn't the most attractive sight. The dining areas look welcoming but the tables are all very sticky. The service is rather random and not what I would have expected. The food is good but rather expensive compared to other places. Fair choice. The views of the sea take away from the dirty, dusty windows. Could do with a good clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here when it was the Westover & it had a fabulous fine dining restauarant which is sadly no more. Our room was spacious & clean but the bathroom needed some TLC. We didn't eat dinner here as it reminded us more of a chain style pub than a welcoming restaurant. breakfast was OK but a fairly limited choice & the staff seemed under pressure. It's basically Ok for a short stay but there are better options in the vicinity. We were atbthe front of the hotel & woken early by the bin men!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

spent one night at this hotel for the sum of £150.the room hand ent seen a hover or carpet cleaner for a long long time. the mould in the shower was disgusting.stains on all the tops the draws were falling a part .a need to dust and clean the cob webs from the windows would of been nice.breakfast was good.was not asked by the manager if we enjoyed the stay poor customer care.not worth the money

Room Tip: go to a good hotel not this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigdaveSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had two rooms, one in the main house and one in the annexe-both equally good. Helpful staff. Comfortable beds, nice linen. A couple of minor details could be improved. It's a bit annoying to have a tea tray with only cream (not milk) available -yuk! Earl Grey tea bags would have been nice as well-there was every other variety and no shortage of Earl Grey at breakfast! Breakfast was delicious and loads of choice. Another minor point (manager please note)- staff shouldnt clear finished plates when one diner is still eating!
Plumbing was a bit noisy in the morning-but that added to the charm! I felt like I was in an Agatha Christie story!
Other nice touches-help yourself to fresh fruit at the front desk.
Would definitely book again if returning to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valleyg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Pro's - stayed in annexe room which was clean with good facilities, flatscreen tv and wet room/bathroom. Breakfast was very good and serving staff very efficient. Great views of The Needles and Isle of Wight coastline

Con's - no telephone in room when it clearly says in hotel information book there is. Bar area not very inviting with glasses covering half the bar top. Each function room e.g breakfast room & lounge had squeegee bottles of cleaner and soiled cloths on show.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank saltyb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I think some reviewers are being unfair. This is not a top notch hotel but it is much better than average. Our (standard double) room was very good and clean. The bar was satisfactory at best but I liked the restaurant and the evening meal was much better than the "pub standard" quoted by other reviewers. I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelloFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we have just stayed there it was clean and friendly. it definatley needs a refurbisment as its very tired and worn, the are only two chairs that are comfortable and they were in the lobby all other chairs were hard. the parking has a lot to be desired though, as there is no propper parking for guests, if you leave the hotel you will be lucky if you can find a space when you return. food not bad but that depends on which chef is on duty.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poshtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
532 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,957 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £59 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing