We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, handy for the ferry to Isle of Wight”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for one night before we caught the ferry to the Isle of Wight. It was a great location, near the ferry, garden backed on to he beach, views to the Isle of Wight from our window, and near the key haven ferry and the shingle spit if you wanted to walk to the castle. The decor was beautiful with stained glass windows and wooden panelling. The breakfast offered was more unique than full English and the meal in the restaurant was good.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have views to the Isle of Wight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

WEestayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is lovely, beautiful stained glass windows. Our room faced the sea and towards The Isle of Wight...wonderful! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was good, we had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and it was delicious. The breakfast had a good choice of cereals, croissants etc, and a freshly cooked breakfast. All in all, a good place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judicrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The beach house is a fantastic little place for a weekend away. Good food, very friendly staff and an incredibly charming building. We loved our room and throwing open the curtains to the morning sun over the sea with the needles in the distance was such a nice way to start the day. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelhotelhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We took the chance and booked the last standard room. Was a little concerned that it would be small especially as we were travelling with a large dog but it was perfect - clean, a great size and tastefully decorated. I remember this hotel from when it was called Westover Hall and I have to say I was a little concerned when the new managers informed me that they are planning to move the bar to the lobby area as noise will surely travel up the listed wooden staircase to rooms are at present so quiet, so peaceful and great. Breakfast was everything we could ask for - well cooked, great selection of cereals and juices and staff that struck the right balance. We did not eat dinner as quite frankly the cheap looking menus really put us off so instead we walked into Milford, a short 5-10 minute walk and found a lovely pub to sit in. All in all I would recommend this hotel at the moment but it will be interesting to see what happens when they renovate.

Room Tip: Room 22 is a great standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I live close by to this restaurant and have visited twice now and can't believe I haven't been here before! The food is beautiful and is very reasonably priced for the standard the food is. I went here with my boyfriend for a meal and again with a larger crowd for my birthday and on both occasions have loved it! Would definitely recommend The Beach House for dinner and lunch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have eaten there twice now and have mixed feelings. The bar is covered in glasses which isn't the most attractive sight. The dining areas look welcoming but the tables are all very sticky. The service is rather random and not what I would have expected. The food is good but rather expensive compared to other places. Fair choice. The views of the sea take away from the dirty, dusty windows. Could do with a good clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here when it was the Westover & it had a fabulous fine dining restauarant which is sadly no more. Our room was spacious & clean but the bathroom needed some TLC. We didn't eat dinner here as it reminded us more of a chain style pub than a welcoming restaurant. breakfast was OK but a fairly limited choice & the staff seemed under pressure. It's basically Ok for a short stay but there are better options in the vicinity. We were atbthe front of the hotel & woken early by the bin men!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
555 reviews
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,655 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £50 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing