We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Recently returned from a two night stay. The entrance hall, restaurant and lounge was full of period charm with wood panelled walls. We stayed in a suite which was spacious, clean with mostly period furniture apart from two clear plastic tables and a chair which we found a bit bizarre. The view from the room was fabulous with views across the sea front to the Isle of Wight. The hotel is looking a bit dated and in need of renovation which I was informed will be taking place between January and April 2014. The bar is being moved as the room it is in at the moment is far too small. I would describe the food as good quality 'Pub Grub' and is well presented and reasonably priced. The breakfast is plentiful with plenty of choice. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to returning once the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with sea view, well worth the extra. Spacious with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_S186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    182
    90
    39
    20
See reviews for
133
368
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A lovely hotel with ample parking, quiet location overlooking the sea, fantastic wood panelling and stained glass windows and a very large, very friendly cat!
Not very organised at check in - given a key which didn't fit our door! However, swiftly rectified. We had booked into the small double room as we wanted a sea view - decor a little tired but a comfortable room, full bathroom as en-suite, sanitary ware spotless but plenty of dust on the skirting boards. Lovely nights sleep with the window open to hear the sea. Breakfast - friendly service, usual choice of food.
Young guy checked us out, very curt, seemed in a rush, no eye contact, asked if all was ok with the stay but then not even a goodbye!
We would return because of the lovely setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupdragon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Hi
We have just had 2 days at the The Beach Hotel.I really don't want to tell too many about this hotel.The staff were excellent and all liked Birtie the dog,apart from the cat.??
The Hotel is being refurbished at the moment but didn't retract from its appeal.Perfect location
and good food.We will go back again and again,so will Birtie.

Kind Regards.
Ken ,Sue.Weybridge ,Surrey.

Room Tip: Number 7 or the Pebble Cottage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Staff, food and drink were all pleasant and would have rated a four. The experience was let down by the bar, where we went for a pre-dinner drink. We were shown to an alcove with a 'view'. It was dusk and all we could see was a sash window with cobwebs and peeling paint. Hopefully, this will be top of the list for the promised winter refurbishment.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Milfordman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a great stay in this dog friendly hotel -even sir Lancelot is not too put off !! ( the resident Manx ) it'll be interesting to go back after the refurb - due for early next year , to see which original features are kept .
Great breakfasts and comfortable room , tv a bit low tech but hey that's picking holes .
We will return hopefully sometime soon .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a great time on our 4 day break. Easy access to all the local attractions, friendly and relaxed staff, well run hotel. The atmosphere is great and the food is excellent, and served quickly. Fantastic views from the rooms and the terrace and totally relaxing.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are a bit hot but still well maintained and decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

One night's stay was not enough, so I'll be returning again..and again. .The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The high quality bedding gave a wonderful night's sleep. The dining room overlooks the Isle of Wight with the Needles and the food is excellent. Breakfast just cannot be missed - from a choice of cereals, juices, cold meats, pastries and a long list of cooked dishes including kedgeree, and poached eggs with smoked salmon and everything cooked exactly how you request it. The hotel is a listed building with panelling and stained glass windows - a luxury Edwardian country house with a galleried impressive entrance and a large lounge with overstuffed settees in front of a large log fire in the winter. It is a 'get-away-from-it-all' place to recharge your batteries after a busy or hectic normal life.
A path leads to the cliff top with fantastic sea views and wonderful sunsets. In addition there are good deals on offer in quiet periods. Enjoy!

Room Tip: For a short visit the small double rooms are very acceptable, with a good sized bathroom with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
465 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,569 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,060 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing