We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
south east
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A group of friends and ourselves recently stayed at this hotel. The hotel is grand in appearance with wood panelling. The bedrooms are a good size and clean. The sea views look out towards the needles. The staff are friendly but not intrusive. They were all helpful and made us very welcome. The food was good and well presented. Good car parking and the buses top outside the hotel.
Will definitely return in the new year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank euniceSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    184
    90
    39
    20
See reviews for
134
370
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We recently stayed at The Beach House and although the premises still looks the same as the last time I stayed (when it was Westover Hall and privately run) the service and food was really disappointing.

I had stayed at Westover Hall a few years ago and had a wonderful weekend, the front of house, food and overall ambiance was without fault.

My partner had arranged a meeting with a client and booked the accommodation, it wasn't until we drove into The Beach House that a recognised it. I was very excited about our stay but was soon apprehensive, we arrived at approx 2pm and told the room was not ready, which was fine, I had to drop my partner to Key Haven Boatyard and asked if I could leave our bags until the room was ready, the girl was not very accommodating so I put the bags back in the car.

We booked a table to eat later that evening, we had a drink in the bar then went through to our table my partners client had also joined us for supper.

We ordered our food and when it arrived (about 10 mins later), the soup was thick and cold, garlic bread arrived with unmelted cheese, my liver was so well done it could have kicked footballs around a field.

We appreciate this is now sadly owned by a chain and the food should be the same across the board, locally we have a Hall & Woodhouse Pub in Topsham and the food is of much higher standard.

To sum up food not anywhere near the standard of the building!!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying at The Beach House but eat out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie_Appleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe C, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Please accept our apologies for what you describe in this entry. Our check in is not until 3 and I understand we did offer to check you in and store your bags and let them know when the room was ready. With regards to the evening meal we were completely unaware of these comments and when we checked during your meal we were told everything was fine. If you had mentioned anything about any of the food being to poor quality I can assure you we would not have let this go unaddressed. We appreciate that the Beach House Westover is a very different experience to what you would have enjoyed in the past at Westover Hall. The prices we charge are very different to those in the past, having purchased the site from the receiver it was clear the business had you go in a different direction. We are glad to be made aware of your disappointment even if only through a posting on Trip Advisor. Once again please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We've visited several times as it's one of the closest hall and Woodhouse pubs to home. Staff have always been very friendly and helpful. Food is good honest pub fare at a reasonable price. They've always been happy to alter items if one of us hasn't liked something.
The building is full of character hopefully the refit enhances it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mswep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Visited 2 other pubs in the Group one at Lulworth Cove and one near Stonehenge both great Beach House was revisited recently because of these 2 Very Good experiences but fell woefully short. Staff pleasant enough but could do better really miffed when tried to order Calves Liver only to find not available, if only I had been told before would be fine.
Great location but need to get up to speed with other pubs in group.

Room Tip: have dined some time ago in the Sun Room on the first floor overlooking over looking the needles, F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Recently returned from a two night stay. The entrance hall, restaurant and lounge was full of period charm with wood panelled walls. We stayed in a suite which was spacious, clean with mostly period furniture apart from two clear plastic tables and a chair which we found a bit bizarre. The view from the room was fabulous with views across the sea front to the Isle of Wight. The hotel is looking a bit dated and in need of renovation which I was informed will be taking place between January and April 2014. The bar is being moved as the room it is in at the moment is far too small. I would describe the food as good quality 'Pub Grub' and is well presented and reasonably priced. The breakfast is plentiful with plenty of choice. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to returning once the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with sea view, well worth the extra. Spacious with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_S186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A lovely hotel with ample parking, quiet location overlooking the sea, fantastic wood panelling and stained glass windows and a very large, very friendly cat!
Not very organised at check in - given a key which didn't fit our door! However, swiftly rectified. We had booked into the small double room as we wanted a sea view - decor a little tired but a comfortable room, full bathroom as en-suite, sanitary ware spotless but plenty of dust on the skirting boards. Lovely nights sleep with the window open to hear the sea. Breakfast - friendly service, usual choice of food.
Young guy checked us out, very curt, seemed in a rush, no eye contact, asked if all was ok with the stay but then not even a goodbye!
We would return because of the lovely setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupdragon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Hi
We have just had 2 days at the The Beach Hotel.I really don't want to tell too many about this hotel.The staff were excellent and all liked Birtie the dog,apart from the cat.??
The Hotel is being refurbished at the moment but didn't retract from its appeal.Perfect location
and good food.We will go back again and again,so will Birtie.

Kind Regards.
Ken ,Sue.Weybridge ,Surrey.

Room Tip: Number 7 or the Pebble Cottage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
471 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,576 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,063 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,724 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing