We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a few days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a few days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my 5year old son. Checked in fine the staff were very nice. We stayed in the lilac room and it was beautiful. Very spacious with balcony. The bathroom was so lovely with ceiling lights which change colours large bath and a walk in shower, again very spacious. Breakfast included was good. The only thing we had a problem with was make sure you book for dinner as it is very busy and there was not a table reserved for in house guests, our first night we had to eat on a small table in the lounge): Overall the stay was peaceful and relaxing with epic sea views from our room looking out to Isle of Wight, even in May. Lots to do in Lymington and will defiantly return in the summer months. We fell in love with a certain resident...the cat:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olesp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    167
    81
    35
    19
See reviews for
124
335
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thankyou all at The Beach House for our lovely stay. This is a great, recent refurbishment of a wonderful building which maintains so many of the original features, some given a modern, quirky twist. Wood panel rooms can feel stuffy - not here! Our bedroom , The Nursery didn't have the sea view that most rooms enjoy but it was delightful.
Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and the service was friendly and efficient.We shall certainly return. Well done to all and we wish you a busy summer.
Our daughter joined us for one night and was extremly happy as well!!!

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just stayed the one night at this newly reopened Pub/restaurant with rooms. Its now owned by Hall and Woodhouse famed for its Tanglefoot ale/Badger beers. We know Milford and its such a beautiful village and its walks both ways along the seafront. What we didnt know was that the village is a mini gourmet centre. We came to Milford to enjoy the dining bus experience(see elsewhere) . We thought it would be lovely to stop over in the village so we could enjoy a glass of wine etc. The Beach House is up a small hill just outside of the village going towards New Milton.
The property has HISTORY and the way Hall and Woodhouse have done this is to renovate it and keep alot of its original features and pay homage to its past. All very interesting and makes the visit more special. Look out for the Cluedo twist.Whoever thought of that needs praising from a marketing perspective aswell as the ingenuity and attention to detail. The house has only been open to the public a few weeks. It was lovely to stay in a guest room which was brand new and not have previous occupants scuffs/scratches/carpet stains et al. Everything is immaculate!
The decor is fabulous. The buyers employed by Hall and Woodhouse have really gone to town to deck these rooms out in a lovely sea side manner with old world charm/shabby chic.
We are lucky with room allocations around the world over but never in the UK and sadly this was no exception. We had a double guest room which overlooked the carpark. Room 3 the Cooks room. The names a give away since it is over the restaurant kitchen AND unfortunately we had the cooking smells and grease smells and the whirr of the fan extractors and the heat permeating up to our room. NOT GOOD!! . Warning avoid room3!
It should be heavily discounted against other room rates NOTE to MANAGEMENT!

The one redeeming feature was the quirkiest thing we have experienced for along time when it comes to staying away in the UK. They have a web cam hooked up to the 55 inch led flat screen TV in the room and its set so when you switch on, it links to the webcam display which is a permanent shot of the sea view at the rear of the Beach House property. Hence a sea view room!!
There is also a freize on the wall behind the superking bed of a screen print of the Needles Isle of Wight, which is full floor to ceiling room width which is quite something too.

The only other minor negatives were that room 3 cant be locked from the inside. I think the rooms are mortice locks instead of yale types and whilst they may be new locks ours hasnt been lined up accurately such that the key wont turn to lock the door from the inside. Fortunately we didnt have any night visitors or challenges to our security of belongings!! The other matter was they need a window cleaner on the outside. the windows are still smeared with builders dust/stains from renovation.
Although we had eaten well during the day we had a salad mains/meze platter for dinner which was everything it said it would be. The Chilean sauvignon at £16 was pretty reasonable too in price and taste.
The sunday breakfast was good.Not brilliant by other standards but overall acceptable.It is included in the room rate but so is the smell of cooking and heat (when the radiators are off)

Room Tip: dont worry about sea views. they all have them either naturally or from the TV! But the best view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedorDead58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good parking, lovely historic building set overlooking The Needles, friendly and attentive service and great pub food at very reasonable prices.
Recently refurbished building formerly the home of Alexander Siemens.
A must for any visitor to Milford on Sea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42PaulJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice hotel. No lift, and our rooms where on the second floor. Breakfast was a bit tight on the big breakfast, but it was well cooked. Dinner in evening was good, but my husband had to send his steak back as it was fatty. He got another steak and was not charged for the meal. On both nights they had rung out of the pie. Views were very nice

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a brilliant stay here. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. The hotelier is also very friendly; as was Launcelot the cat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night to visit friends. The suite was beautiful and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good selection. The views from the terrace are lovely. We also had lunch here with our friends which was very tasty, although I was disappointed when I was told that the roast beef was all gone at 1:30pm on a Sunday!! Staff are very friendly and attentive. We will be returning here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing