We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel full of period charm”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3rd and 4th August 2014. We had a great meal in the evening of the 3rd served by helpful staff. No waiting around, orders taken for our table of 8 and speedily served with a smile. Breakfast was also great, such a huge choice and again, served immediately and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel inside is stunning, lots of oak panelling and wide staircases, we loved all the character and reading about the history of the hotel.

Our room was delightful, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom.

The back of the hotel and gardens overlook the sea, a wonderful location.

Thank you to everybody the The Beach Hotel for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RFranklin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked two nights 29th/30th July 2014 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived at around 5.30pm and were promptly booked in by a friendly member of staff, who also booked a table in the restaurant that evening for us and made the effort to fit us in despite being fully booked. He then showed us to our room and offered to help with our bags. Our room (despite being one of their cheaper options) was absolutely beautiful. Light, airy and tastefully decorated with a lovely beach theme. Cannot fault the room at all, clean, comfortable mattress and bedding and a breathtaking view of the sea, Isle of Wight and The Needles. We went down to dinner and the food was delicious and well presented. I had the steak and ale pie with mash and seasonal vegetables and my husband had the lamb kofte burger. Breakfast on the first morning was very efficiently run, friendly, relaxed and good quality food and variety (scrambled egg was particularly good). The second morning was a different story and seemed much less relaxed, staff seeming flustered and stressed, service a lot slower and more disjointed and buffet table not very well stocked. We were not in a rush, so this didn't particularly worry us, but it did make it less pleasurable than the first morning. Something had clearly happened as there was definitely a change in atmosphere. However, overall, we still had a fantastic time and would recommend both the hotel and restaurant. It has so much character - every part of it we saw was stunningly and tastefully decorated and a lot of thought and care has clearly been put into the refurbishment. The building itself is fantastic, with tons of history and character, yet with all the mod cons and so much nicer than a modern hotel and can't fault the location either. So nearly five stars, which it would have been if it hadn't been for the blip at breakfast on the second day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyVonTrapp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Discovered 2 weeks ago and been twice for lunch. Location just superb and what character. Food very good as is service. You must go if only for a look at this lovely character Victorian mansion that was almost demolished - what a philistine loss this would have been.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Florentinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We went for a lovely walk along Milford cliff top top and stopped in for drinks and nibbles. It's recently been refurbished and the layout is much better.

It was busy but it was set up to accommodate a quick turnover of visitors. The bar is now in the centre of the entrance lobby and you can order drinks and food at the bar. There was a constant queue but it took only minutes to be served and the food was quickly delivered to our table.

The loos have been completely refine and are now in the basement with large cubicles behind dark wooden doors and everything is tiled so it's still nice and bright.

We had the sharing platter and they were enough for four of us to have a nibble. We were very impressed with the new layout and will be back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BonVoyageFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived here to start celebrations for my partners birthday, i search for a hotel every year as a surprise and my does this hotel deliver.
On arrival the staff were friendly and attentive, gave all the information we needed and offered help with our bags. The entrance and hall is very impressive with old time, antique furniture and wooden cladding throughout. What I was certainly expecting from such an estate style home. We were taken to our room which is (was) absolutely beautiful. The decor was what show homes are made of and the bathroom stole the show with a night sky style ceiling with an interchangeable light show - this was perfect for the heavy cast copper bath set in the centre, his and her sinks as well as the huge sunflower style shower.
A surprise also being the hidden tv in the large unit - electronic rising out the back.
The bed was wonderful, the sheets clean and fresh. Lots of comfy pillows and plush duvet. If needed an option for hypoallergenic bedding if required. We were lucky to have a balcony, the only room I believe that has this option that looks over to the see which must be less than 200yards.
We ate in the restaurant also, great value as the food was fantastic and the service great. We left a tip which is always a good sign, drinks reasonably priced.
The breakfast was lovely, again the service was great and attentive. Buffet style pastries and cereals, lovely selection of juices, followed by a cooked breakfast - menu has a good choice for vegetarians and meat eaters. I didn't like the taste of the mushroom but it wouldn't make me not recommend this great hotel.
We will be coming back

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaGeorginaThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A lovely small hotel...have just stayed for 2 nights B and B. Room 5 is amazing, a bath in the bedroom, wonderful views, an amazing ensuite shower. The breakfast choice is good and we received excellent service. Lovely gardens and terraces to enjoy the views while you sip your drinks. A super base to visit the surrounding area. Would definitely return again soon.a

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eveverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

How this is only ranked sixth out of the various establishments on offer in Milford on Sea I have no idea. Our room was huge, tastefully and beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. There was a private indoor terrace where we could have a quiet, pre dinner drink looking out to sea..blissful. Dinner menu offered plenty of choice for the veggie and the "6 mini desserts for a tenner" was a gauntlet thrown down that just had to be picked up. Service was attentive and extremely pleasant. The only downside was that, on a glorious Summer morning, we were unable to be served breakfast outside to enjoy the view and sea air. Perhaps a rethink of this policy is in order? After all, we don't have that many such mornings here in Blighty so let's make the most of them. That aside it was a wonderful stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dizzy_Blonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
532 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,956 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £60 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing