We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just spent the August bank holiday. We have dogs and where in the small house at the side of the main hotel.
It was perfect room28 your own little court yard off the bedroom to let dogs out if needed. The decor was such a high standard as was the bedding and huge bed.

The main house is arts nouveau such a stunning old mansion. Stunning Refurb a place to unwind and relax. The staff where so friendly and Very attentive we loved it.

The Only problem was lots of children for the bank holiday. At breakfast it was like an out of control kinder garden. Parents just ignoring what ever the children where doing, No consideration for any other guests who had come to relax.

I suggest the hotel should arrange a separate dinning room when there are large numbers of Children. If explained to the parents not everybody wants to bath in their joy of little Children world.

They have had there kids and would like a bit of peace.

Apart from that what a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrMonkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were staying nearby and popped in for a drink one evening in a party of 13. The building is beautiful and so interesting. Great lounge/ billiard room for board games and sitting chatting. Fantastic decor. Loved it so much we came back for dinner as a four. The food was wonderful. The views are stunning and we only wished we could have stayed. The rooms looked great and reasonable. We had super service and they even printed something out for us as we were camping. Cannot fault it. We shall be back. The family rooms sound perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bossyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a amazing meal food lovely staff really friendly and a amazing meal with 6 people thanks beautiful views amazing seats great restaurants great sea view the staff really friendly smartly presented nice candle lit meal and a very good atmosphere to eat my food

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheeky1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Turned up on spec following only recent trip advisor reviews for something in this area. When we arrived there were 3 rooms available and was offered the opportunity to view all three first. They were all to a really really ( yes two really's) high standard. We chose the room with the view of the needles. The room was immaculate with some really nice touches such as the auto blue light in the bathroom so you are not blinded when using the bathroom in the middle of the night. Recently decorated meant that they were to the highest standard. We ate in the restaurant and we're not disappointed. Although this was a one off passing through evening we both agreed that we will return here for a weekend in the future. This says a lot as we live in Derbyshire and it would be well worth the journey.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great with the view of the needles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woodhall8298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful location with great views of the sea. Unfortunately we had a long wait for our food and when it came it was quite poor. This hotel is situated in a great location , but the service and food let it down.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The brewery have spent a lot on refurbishing this place, and the rooms are great. We had a family room in the attic and it was excellent, clean, very tastefully furnished with a huge, comfortable double bed. The location is really good, with a short stroll to a nice beach with great views of the Isle of Wight. Food was excellent with 3 really well thought out vegetarian dishes to choose from. All good so far. But the service on the night we were there was terrible. After being very firmly told what table to turn up to, and at what time, we were then told off for getting some drinks (just as well we did in the light of what was to come), rebuked for not being quick with our order, then the waitress returned to tell us one of the choices was off which she should have known, then on a simple request as to what meat was in one of the dishes she disappeared for ages before returning to tell us that the chef didn't know! Our food, which was excellent, arrived in an hour, the table next to us were waiting for an hour and three quarters, and then some of the wrong dishes turned up. We waited another hour to order dessert without seeing a waitress and with all our empty plates in front of us. After giving up and walking out we witnessed the staff chatting at the bar. Hopeless. What a shame, as the place could be really excellent with better service.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the sea if you can, the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for one night on Sunday 10th August 2014. We were gutted it wasn't a longer stay. The minute we pulled up in the car park we knew we had come across a special gem.
On checking in, all the staff were friendly and welcoming. They had great knowledge of the buildings history which was interesting. The decor of the building is quirky and warm.
Our room was a standard double with a sea view from the bathroom. It was gorgeous. Beautifully decorated, spacious, a mix of modern and vintage with a lovely big bed.
There were also special touches that just made the stay special such as complimentary water, vintage bedtime short stories, luxury toiletries and a large range of teas and coffee's.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, a great choice, high quality food and a lovely space to eat overlooking the garden and coast.
We will be back for another stay but next time for longer!!

i couldn't fault the place. A real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,654 reviews
6.8 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £48 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing