We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit!”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent meal at The Beach House yesterday evening with 3 friends. Beautifully refurbished without losing any authenticity of an old manor house . Difficulty choosing main course as many tempting choices and I am vegetarian! Excellent attentive friendly service and as we booked had a big table in the window with beautiful views across to the Isle of Wight. Will be returning soon

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jaw1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    173
    83
    37
    19
See reviews for
130
345
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just spent the August bank holiday. We have dogs and where in the small house at the side of the main hotel.
It was perfect room28 your own little court yard off the bedroom to let dogs out if needed. The decor was such a high standard as was the bedding and huge bed.

The main house is arts nouveau such a stunning old mansion. Stunning Refurb a place to unwind and relax. The staff where so friendly and Very attentive we loved it.

The Only problem was lots of children for the bank holiday. At breakfast it was like an out of control kinder garden. Parents just ignoring what ever the children where doing, No consideration for any other guests who had come to relax.

I suggest the hotel should arrange a separate dinning room when there are large numbers of Children. If explained to the parents not everybody wants to bath in their joy of little Children world.

They have had there kids and would like a bit of peace.

Apart from that what a fantastic place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMonkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were staying nearby and popped in for a drink one evening in a party of 13. The building is beautiful and so interesting. Great lounge/ billiard room for board games and sitting chatting. Fantastic decor. Loved it so much we came back for dinner as a four. The food was wonderful. The views are stunning and we only wished we could have stayed. The rooms looked great and reasonable. We had super service and they even printed something out for us as we were camping. Cannot fault it. We shall be back. The family rooms sound perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bossyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a amazing meal food lovely staff really friendly and a amazing meal with 6 people thanks beautiful views amazing seats great restaurants great sea view the staff really friendly smartly presented nice candle lit meal and a very good atmosphere to eat my food

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeky1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Turned up on spec following only recent trip advisor reviews for something in this area. When we arrived there were 3 rooms available and was offered the opportunity to view all three first. They were all to a really really ( yes two really's) high standard. We chose the room with the view of the needles. The room was immaculate with some really nice touches such as the auto blue light in the bathroom so you are not blinded when using the bathroom in the middle of the night. Recently decorated meant that they were to the highest standard. We ate in the restaurant and we're not disappointed. Although this was a one off passing through evening we both agreed that we will return here for a weekend in the future. This says a lot as we live in Derbyshire and it would be well worth the journey.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great with the view of the needles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhall8298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful location with great views of the sea. Unfortunately we had a long wait for our food and when it came it was quite poor. This hotel is situated in a great location , but the service and food let it down.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The brewery have spent a lot on refurbishing this place, and the rooms are great. We had a family room in the attic and it was excellent, clean, very tastefully furnished with a huge, comfortable double bed. The location is really good, with a short stroll to a nice beach with great views of the Isle of Wight. Food was excellent with 3 really well thought out vegetarian dishes to choose from. All good so far. But the service on the night we were there was terrible. After being very firmly told what table to turn up to, and at what time, we were then told off for getting some drinks (just as well we did in the light of what was to come), rebuked for not being quick with our order, then the waitress returned to tell us one of the choices was off which she should have known, then on a simple request as to what meat was in one of the dishes she disappeared for ages before returning to tell us that the chef didn't know! Our food, which was excellent, arrived in an hour, the table next to us were waiting for an hour and three quarters, and then some of the wrong dishes turned up. We waited another hour to order dessert without seeing a waitress and with all our empty plates in front of us. After giving up and walking out we witnessed the staff chatting at the bar. Hopeless. What a shame, as the place could be really excellent with better service.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the sea if you can, the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing