We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tea room and garden”

Muffins Galore! at Braxton Gardens
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Restaurant details
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great tea room and garden”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Looking for a stopover and a tea we luckily found this place just a few minutes before they were closing. They kindly served us tea, coffee and great scones (not the usual shape) and cakes. The children enjoyed it and we did as well. Genuine homemade cakes not that easy to find these days. I even tried a new very nice tea. Will be back next time we are around. Hope you are very successful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malincheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Scones.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We decided to go again to this lovely Herb Garden that always had a tearoom and shop. The shop has now gone and the restaurant changed hands two years ago.
We arrived at 3.30pm for a cream tea and were only just in time as it closes at 3.45pm!!!
Whilst we were there a number of people tried to get access at about 4.00pm.
The fruit scones were really lovely and for once were served warm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raymondcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Realaxing Braxton”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have always enjoyed tea at Braxton Gardens and decided to take my 91 year old mother there with promises of a cream tea in the garden. However, on this day we were told that there would be no jam served with the tea because of a wasp problem. After much thought (Mum was really too tired to move on) we decided to stay and sat in the garden. We were plagued by wasps even before the food arrived. The 'cream tea' arrived- a scone and cream. On the plus side Mum did say it was the best scone she had tasted but could she please have a little butter with it especially as there was no jam. A cream tea without jam is not really a cream tea and we were a little disappointed to say the least, especially as I had built the place up and told Mum how nice it was. Apparently the 'wasp problem' is not the customers' problem but the staff's. When they go to collect the used dishes the jam pots were infested with wasps. I did offer to bring the jam pots back in for them but there was still no jam! There was, by the way, no reduction in price for the missing jam. Disappointing visit because I have been to Braxton many times and it has always been lovely. My advice- don't visit in August if you want jam with your cream tea because of the wasps! I shall be serving my own cream teas tomorrow- with homemade jam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cloud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh Cakes here!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Lovely home made cakes - catch them at the right time and they are straight out of the oven. Good Coffee too - we were a bit early fpr the scones but if we wanted to wait eight minutes they would be out of the oven. Never mind the Muffins were hot from the oven - and the cake was to die for. Really friednly homely service and on a sunny day an iddylic garden to sit in - the conservatory is pretty good too on cooler/wetter days. Will be back - probably next week!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Great home made food. Cheese scone fresh and very cheesey, then we had homemade flapjacks they were very very nice and a pot of tea. Even our little dogs biscuit was home made. Very friendly couple run it, I think Sarah bakes all the muffins, scones herself. Please try and go. The only thing it came to almost £14.

Lovely garden to sit, when the weather gets warmer. Thanks you two.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lilylou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muffins Galore! at Braxton Gardens also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 

Been to Muffins Galore! at Braxton Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing