We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Trees Bliss :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Trees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Queensland-Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bay Trees Bliss :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I just spent six nights at the end of October with Sarah and Mark. We stayed in the garden room which was just beautiful - with comfortable outdoor seating when weather permits straight out from the French doors. The bed was a comfortable queen size, the ensuite bathroom was huge with a gorgeous bath and also a great walk-in shower.

So many superlatives!

Mark and Sarah are just amazing - so very kind and thoughtful - nothing was too much trouble for them. With fantastic touches like home-made shortbread and chocolate brownies on occasions, to Mark helping sort any computer issues. Plus when my husband wanted a little more space to work with his computer they were happy for him to sit in the lovely breakfast conservatory with the gorgeous garden view. Also I was given a chair to make it easier on the computer in the bedroom - very considerate. These are just a few of the extra little touches.

The room was delightfully furnished with a new and extremely comforatable sofa and coffee table, plenty of magazines and fresh bottled water for both of us every day. There were also two high quality bathrobes in the wardrobe plus everything and anything else one could imagine to need!

The breakfasts were wonderful with so many choices and all beautifully prepared and served with many home-made choices. Super yummy!

Over the years we have stayed in many fine places but The Bay Trees has to be number one!
The only thing is it has utterly spoiled us and nothing now will compare to the wonderful standard Mark and Sarah have set! Cleo the cat was also super friendly!

Hopefully we will be fortunate to return again one day!

Room Tip: We loved the garden room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayson, Owner at The Bay Trees, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for this glowing review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much - it was a pleasure to have you stay in our home.

Just one small point for the benefit of English readers - the beds are all UK King Size (5 ft wide)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

A great find, The Bay Trees is a special place to stay. Mark and Sarah our hosts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the blue room for two nights which was very very comfortable, the bathroom was a delight with a wonderful deep roll top bath - perfect for a long soak after a day walking. Breakfasts were yummy, my other half particularly liked the scrambled egg and smoked salmon.

Please note though that there is no on-site parking, although we were concerned about this there was no need as immediately opposite there is a small free car park which proved to be perfect, there is also short stay parking immediately outside the front door.

We we stay here again? Most certainly, we will add this gem to our list of 'best finds'.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were looking for a base for a 2 night 3 day trip to the Hampshire coast and came across The Bay Trees.
The B and B tariff was higher than other local establishments but judging from comments left on Trip Advisor it was worth the premium.
We have found in the past that you cannot rely entirely on internet reviews any more than you can rely 100% on a sat -nav but we decided to book and use The Bay Trees as our base.
I'm really glad we did as the B and B turned out to be a real gem.
Mark and Sarah were extremely helpful, the rooms perfect, breakfast amazing and the location just right.
After walking most of the day we wanted to be able to eat locally and then get back to the B and B quickly and without involving cabs, The Bay Trees is centrally located and within minutes you have the choice of several very nice places to eat.
I have no hesitation in rating The Bay Trees a ' 5* Excellent '.
John Collison.
26th - 27th September. 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the Bay Trees for three nights in September and could not fault it in any way, it was excellent. We were in the downstairs room which opened out to the garden and the rooms facilities compared with those offered by the very best of hotels. Where this Guest House betters hotels is in the breakfast, which would satisfy the most demanding of palates, and the hosts who simply couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. This was a first class experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at The Bay Trees for 2 nights during July, with our 18 month old son. Mark and Sarah could not have been more welcoming, our room was beautifully decorated, the garden was glorious and the breakfast delicious! Highly recommended, we will return; thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarvOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I booked this excellent B&B for my elderly parents to stay for four nights while visiting me in Milford on Sea. The owners - Sarah and Mark - are exceptionally friendly and welcoming and they reassured me that they have a very suitable ground floor, garden room, with a very good, accessible en-suite bathroom. My parents very much enjoyed their stay at the Bay Trees, including the comfortable facilities in the room, the wonderful garden to explore, the terrace to sit and enjoy, the wide range and high standards in the breakfast and the friendly and helpful welcome they received from the owners. I was delighted with the overall experience and the great value for money and will certainly recommend this B&B to the guests of my sailing company, Escape Yachting, who are looking for accommodation in the New Forest near to our base in Lymington!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Bay Trees, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Matthew

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased we were able to make your parents' stay comfortable and easy for them and that you were impressed with the facilities and service we offer our guests.

Mark & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Enjoyed 3 fantastic days at The Bay Trees as past of a birthday treat. Mark and Sarah made us feel really welcome along with Elvis and Cleo who were our welcoming committee when we returned from one of our walks along the coast. Milford on Sea is an excellent base for exploring the area and Mark and Sarah were able to recommend walks, pubs and restaurants. Our four poster room added to the occasion along with the fantastic range of breakfast's. We will certainly be going back to stay again in 2012.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
8.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Property: The Bay Trees
Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing