We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars - no hesitation!”
Review of The Bay Trees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We didn't know the area at all but The Bay Trees was strongly recommended by friends who do, and everything they told us is fully justified.

Mark and Sarah went out of their way to make us feel welcome, helped us find our way around the area, advised us on walks, gave us comprehensive information regarding the copious number of restaurants in the village and provided us with breakfasts to die for.

Our bedroom was warm, comfortable, quiet and sumptuously furnished and came with tea, coffee, biscuits and sherry provided just in case we needed overnight sustenance. Although it was actually unseasonably good weather for mid-November, it wasn't quite warm enough for lounging in the garden or breakfast on the terrace but we shall definitely return in summer to try that out as well!

Room Tip: We stayed in the four poster room, which was a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greygapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

This really is the friendliest B&B we have ever stayed in! We were here for two nights, and as other reviewers have emphasised, the owners go out their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay! The room was gorgeously decorated, the garden is lovely (with chickens!) and the breakfasts are superbly cooked! I would definitely recommend The Bay Trees to...well, everyone! The thought, time and effort they put in to welcoming you into their home is amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yello_jello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I just spent six nights at the end of October with Sarah and Mark. We stayed in the garden room which was just beautiful - with comfortable outdoor seating when weather permits straight out from the French doors. The bed was a comfortable queen size, the ensuite bathroom was huge with a gorgeous bath and also a great walk-in shower.

So many superlatives!

Mark and Sarah are just amazing - so very kind and thoughtful - nothing was too much trouble for them. With fantastic touches like home-made shortbread and chocolate brownies on occasions, to Mark helping sort any computer issues. Plus when my husband wanted a little more space to work with his computer they were happy for him to sit in the lovely breakfast conservatory with the gorgeous garden view. Also I was given a chair to make it easier on the computer in the bedroom - very considerate. These are just a few of the extra little touches.

The room was delightfully furnished with a new and extremely comforatable sofa and coffee table, plenty of magazines and fresh bottled water for both of us every day. There were also two high quality bathrobes in the wardrobe plus everything and anything else one could imagine to need!

The breakfasts were wonderful with so many choices and all beautifully prepared and served with many home-made choices. Super yummy!

Over the years we have stayed in many fine places but The Bay Trees has to be number one!
The only thing is it has utterly spoiled us and nothing now will compare to the wonderful standard Mark and Sarah have set! Cleo the cat was also super friendly!

Hopefully we will be fortunate to return again one day!

Room Tip: We loved the garden room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayson, Owner at The Bay Trees, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for this glowing review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much - it was a pleasure to have you stay in our home.

Just one small point for the benefit of English readers - the beds are all UK King Size (5 ft wide)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A great find, The Bay Trees is a special place to stay. Mark and Sarah our hosts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the blue room for two nights which was very very comfortable, the bathroom was a delight with a wonderful deep roll top bath - perfect for a long soak after a day walking. Breakfasts were yummy, my other half particularly liked the scrambled egg and smoked salmon.

Please note though that there is no on-site parking, although we were concerned about this there was no need as immediately opposite there is a small free car park which proved to be perfect, there is also short stay parking immediately outside the front door.

We we stay here again? Most certainly, we will add this gem to our list of 'best finds'.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were looking for a base for a 2 night 3 day trip to the Hampshire coast and came across The Bay Trees.
The B and B tariff was higher than other local establishments but judging from comments left on Trip Advisor it was worth the premium.
We have found in the past that you cannot rely entirely on internet reviews any more than you can rely 100% on a sat -nav but we decided to book and use The Bay Trees as our base.
I'm really glad we did as the B and B turned out to be a real gem.
Mark and Sarah were extremely helpful, the rooms perfect, breakfast amazing and the location just right.
After walking most of the day we wanted to be able to eat locally and then get back to the B and B quickly and without involving cabs, The Bay Trees is centrally located and within minutes you have the choice of several very nice places to eat.
I have no hesitation in rating The Bay Trees a ' 5* Excellent '.
John Collison.
26th - 27th September. 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the Bay Trees for three nights in September and could not fault it in any way, it was excellent. We were in the downstairs room which opened out to the garden and the rooms facilities compared with those offered by the very best of hotels. Where this Guest House betters hotels is in the breakfast, which would satisfy the most demanding of palates, and the hosts who simply couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. This was a first class experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at The Bay Trees for 2 nights during July, with our 18 month old son. Mark and Sarah could not have been more welcoming, our room was beautifully decorated, the garden was glorious and the breakfast delicious! Highly recommended, we will return; thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarvOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
502 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,902 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,087 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £129 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing