We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't find better hospitality than this...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Trees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You won't find better hospitality than this...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have known Sarah and Mark for over twenty years, as they both had successful careers in demanding jobs outside the Bed and Breakfast business. They have always been very hospitable in organising social events at their home, and when they suddenly announced in August 2011 that they were taking over The Bay Trees we felt that it would be an ideal new venture for them, as they thoroughly enjoy making people feel at ease. We stayed last week, accompanied by our mother/mother-in-law, who was provided with an ideal downstairs room. The guest house has been lovingly modernised, with very tastefully-decorated rooms and furniture and pictures etc carefully acquired to blend in with the house and its setting. The breakfast room is the conservatory which looks out towards a tranquil and delightful garden including five hens who produce the eggs which are served at breakfast. All food is sourced locally, and the village has several excellent pubs and restaurants; we particularly liked the Smuggler's Arms. There are many excellent individual and thoughtful touches, including home-made biscuits and a sherry decanter in the bedrooms, individually-produced breakfasts, cooked to guests' requirements on the Aga, and leaflets and umbrellas to borrow, to enable the maximum use to be made of the local area, regardless of the weather. Mark and Sarah's new puppy, a mischievous golden spaniel, joined the household a few weeks ago, and he is very welcoming and entertaining. Their loyal cat celebrated her sixteenth birthday during our stay. We would recommend trying to book well in advance; we stayed from Monday to Friday, as it was clear that the establishment is likely to be very popular for weekend stays.

Room Tip: The downstairs Garden Room is ideal for people who prefer level access facilities. We stayed in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnistonlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We looked at staying at the Bay Trees last year but it was fully booked. So pleasantly surprised to see Sarah and Mark had a room available when I called last month. Confirmed by phone with Sarah that we were over the Isle of Wight and getting the ferry back to Lymington and she remembered that I had covered that off in our earlier phone call so obviously well organised. Very nice welcome on arrival and shown to our room which was lovely. gave us some great advice as to where to eat and this was important given it was a Sunday evening. A long day for us may have meant that we would have had a good night's sleep but we certainly rested well and both had the luxury of a bath that evening. Up for breakfast the following morning to meet the other guests and enjoy the breakfast. You can see why they have won the Breakfast Award and the New Forest Marque too. It was really enjoyable and a good start to the day. Mark then showed us his modest train collection in the garden shed before the other half got distracted playing with someone in the garden for about half an hour. More good advice as to our morning's stroll and a bar of chocolate (in case we got peckish - hardly likely!) sent us on our way. We hope to return. It was a real pleasure to find a nice B&B in the New Forest. We used to go to the Cottage Hotel in Brockenhurst for years but after the owners (who we got to know very well left, we didn't go back) so it is great to have a lovely case in this beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in the very spacious and comfortable Blue Room. Was the only one available but think we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was a return visit for a few days break . Everything was great with superb breakfasts .The hosts Mark and Sarah are so helpful and have a lovely relaxed home with a beautiful garden to enjoy.
We found it to be very quiet so slept well ( great bed!). We really love it here and certainly will return again - no hesitation in recommending.

Milford is a great location is you want a choice of restaurants within walking distance and seaside walks. The bus stops outside the door for Bournemouth and Lymington.

Room Tip: We like the first floor four poster room with windows back and front so a lovely light room. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bay Trees for three nights in April. A warm welcome awaited us
from Mark and Sarah who immediately made us feel at home. Sarah's tea and scones were a welcome treat after our long journey.We stayed in the garden room which was beautifully appointed, and had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in.The breakfast also deserves a special mention, great choice and all fresh and individually cooked for each guest using locally sourced ingredients. The smoked haddock was a real treat. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance, we had a fabulous meal at the french bistro. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

What a great find. We were warmly welcomed with tea and scones - a great start! The room was beautiful and spotless and i loved the roll top bath. Lots of lovely little touches e.g. chocolates in the room, a decanter of sherry, dressing gowns and a very friendly cat called Chleo! Definitely recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in The Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_E_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I stayed in this amazing Bed and Breakfast last weekend. Mark and Sarah are very hospitable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was delightful, looking out onto a covered patio and garden. There was a welcome glass of sherry, biscuits, all sorts of teas, coffee etc as well as some little chocolates.
The bathroom was palatial, with separate shower and a deep bath.
The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept soundly!
Breakfast was great - a good variety with fresh fruit, my favourite yoghurt and several cooked options. There were various types of toast and the coffee was good and plentiful.
Thank you very much Mark and Sarah, we shall come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our stay was excellent - in late November the weather throughout the country was terrible and a stay away from home did not sound like a good idea but our few days at this B&B were excellent. We had the Blue Room, large and comfortably furnished in a lovely colour scheme. Well-fitted spacious bathroom. No need to be concerned about noise from the main street as the front window is triple-glazed, and the heating works efficiently. Home cooked breakfast (local Gold Award winner) is served in the conservatory which leads into a well-furnished seating area and the pretty garden where ther is more al fresco seating. You may even have eggs from Sarah's hens! Perfect situation with bus stops in both directions right outside the door and excellent restaurants - a French bistro, a specialist fish restaurant, several pubs and ethnic eateries - within a few minutes flat walking. The welcome is kind and helpful in every way and we appreciated home-made shortbread on the goodies tray in the bedroom and a chance to enjoy the house chocolate fudge!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Property: The Bay Trees
Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing