We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B & B”
Review of The Bay Trees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a really lovely time. Mark and Sarah couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with a cup of tea and home made cakes, always appreciated after a journey. The room we stayed in was large, clean and very comfortable as was the Four Poster bed. There was a great choice for breakfast which was hot, fresh and delicious. Position of the guest house is perfect and a great choice of restaurants close by. We would hope to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
138
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were made to feel extremely welcome by Mark and Sarah from the very first moment we arrived. The place is impeccably clean, with a very relaxed atmosphere, enhanced by the lovely and tranquil garden.
The breakfast we had was absolutely gorgeous, with wonderful eggs from their hens and a lovely selection of yoghurts and berries. I certainly recommend Sarah's homemade granola...! Simply to die for...

Room Tip: We atayed in the ground floor "Garden Room" so I guess the upstairs rooms may offer more i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatriz v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights to allow us to indulge in some of Milford's wonderful restaurants and what a truly wonderful find! Mark and Sarah are very welcoming into their superb home with fantastic garden (homemade cake and tea on the verandah was an extra special and unexpected treat), yet we still felt free to come and go as we pleased - a good combination. We stayed in the garden room which was beautiful - absolutely everything you need is in the room and more - the huge bathroom with both large bath and humungous shower suited both my hubby and myself. As others have mentioned, breakfast was truly brilliant with eggs straight from the chickens in the garden and so much other choice as well. We've stayed in many 'posh' hotels over the years but The Bay Trees really topped them all for everything from facilities, hosting, comfort and welcome. We will definitely return as this is a truly treasured find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Bay Trees a week after Milford On Sea Food Week. From the orginal booking made with Mark everything when very well. Mark recommended 2 local restaurants which we booked at least 10 days before our visit. Sarah greeted us by offering a new forest cream tea in the garden upon arrival which was most welcome.
The garden room was our choice during our stay - it was both light and well furnished to a good standard.
We preferred our stay here to a four star hotel in Salisbury!

An excellent breakfast was prepared to order with a wide choice and free range eggs from Sarah's hens at the bottom of their large garden.

There are several parking spaces outside the Bay Trees as well as other spaces in a small car opposite.The B & B is well situated for touring along the coast as well as within five minutes walk of several good restaurants. Mark recommended a pre-dinner drink at the Cave Wine shop/Bar and our highlight was an excellent meal at Verveine Fish Restaurant.

No hesitation in recommening this 5 Star B & B. The couple have suceeded in providing a warm welcome and a well run establishment.
We shall certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fantastic hosts, the rooms are dreamily decorated, fantastic attention to detail
left us constantly feeling looked after in every way, a generous and thoughtful approach.
Our headstrong toddler loved it as much as us and was delighted with breakfast, rose scented bath, beautiful garden and occasional glimpse of the family dog and cat.
What a luxurious time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaycokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Despite not having had a restful week themselves, having been involved in Food Week, our hosts made sure we had a most enjoyable stay at Bay Trees and did everything they could to make our stay in the area as complete as possible. Very thoughtful attention to detail, the odd welcome surprise (not least the delightful and entertaining pets) and nothing too much trouble. Delightful room, lovely garden and fabulous breakfasts. Well positioned for all local amenities. Will happily return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

An absolute delight, this is not your run of the mill B & B. The rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated with lots of small touches that make a big difference, Sarah and Mark make you feel completely welcome and certainly deliver excellent service. They were attentive and always made sure we had everything we needed and then some. They certainly go that extra mile for you. Their breakfast has won awards and deservedly so, and top marks for using only locally sourced foods. I would highly recommend The Bay Trees it's in a class of its own.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Property: The Bay Trees
Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing