We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Trees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Six friends descended on Milford on sea looking forward to a relaxing weekend. We arrived at Sarah's and Mark's home and were welcomed warmly with homemade cake and tea. The new pup had just arrived and appeared at home in Mark's arms. The bedrooms were all comfortable and had a range of teas and coffees and delicious shortbread biscuits, a real treat. Breakfast was amazing with a wide range of choices all cooked to perfection. Mark had advised us on places to eat and drink and we were wined and dined at two of the local restaurants which were both amazing. We packed loads into our weekend with horse riding, a trip to the local vineyard, a visit to the local castle ruins and a walk along the beach.
This charming B&B is in an ideal location and will allow you to rest, relax and feel throughly spoilt.
We left with fond memories and plan to return very soon. Jasmine and friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife and mother over Mother's day weekend. Mark and Sarah were very welcoming and from the moment we walked in the door nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were large and spotless with lots of nice touches and despite the B&B being right on the street they were also really quiet.

We slept well and were treated to a fantastic breakfast in the light and airy conservatory. The garden is a real haven of peace and tranquility and when we returned early the following day I found a nice comfortable spot one one of the many benches for a relaxing afternoon read.

We only stayed two nights this time but would love to return to explore more of the New Forest and experience the Bay Trees again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerbilOReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Characterful B&B, right on the high street in Milford-on-Sea, with a surprisingly large and beautiful garden at the back. Excellent location to wander round looking at the independent shops etc., 5 minutes from the beach, good choice of pubs & restaurants, close to New Forest walks, garden centres, even a vineyard nearby! M-o-S is developing a reputation for great food and the Bay Trees owners, Mark & Sarah, have a ring-binder with up-to-date menus of all the local eateries. Their recommendation of the Smugglers Inn for a family meal for 3 adults, a 7 and a 3 year old was perfect. Wonderful smell of lavender in the hall, v. tastefully decorated, excellent quality furnishings and bathroom fittings. Truly comfortable beds. Great tea tray, real coffee, proper mugs, complimentary bottled water .. even sherry (we didn't have any but a lovely touch!). Spotlessly clean, yet homely and comfortable. Child-friendly, accommodating to guests' needs and flexible re breakfast choices. Fresh fruit, compote, choice of yoghurts, juices and Aga-cooked New Forest Breakfast. Mark v. helpful from making initial enquiry and booking, and changing it to accommodate an extra room. Sarah's cakes great too! We had Blue Room upstairs and Garden Room, both were lovely. Jasper the dog and Cleo the cat were so friendly. Ideal for families, couples and friends, or single travellers including business. The accolades and awards are well-deserved and we'd definitely go back. Thanks for a great stay, M & S..... although we only stayed one night, it seemed longer (in a good way!).

Room Tip: Garden Room excellent for guests who prefer ground floor accommodation, French doors onto glorious g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsM836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This B&B is situated in the heart of Milford on Sea. The hosts, Mark and Sarah, were welcoming from the moment the booking was taken to the moment we left. Our room, the blue room was large, clean and comfortable, with traditional elegant decoration. My daughter says it was the best bed she has slept on and the bath room had a touch of real luxury. Good selection of teas, coffees, sherry and biscuits. Breakfast was first class, traditional cooked, but also plenty of other choices, the eggs coming from the hosts own hens. Our only regret is that we had only booked one night, it would have been lovely to have had more time to sit on the terrace and explore the beautiful garden

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We always look forward to our stay at The Bay Trees. Mark and Sarah are so welcoming (also Jasper and Cleo) cakes on arrival and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully appointed and they have done wonders with their garden. Such a secluded area and so quiet. As B and B's go, this is at the top of the tree.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was my turn to host the annual May bank holiday walking weekend. The New Forest proved a good location, however, the real icing on the cake was our accommodation at The Bay Trees. Four grumpy middle aged men and three wives are not always the easiest group to please. Our hosts, Mark and Sarah, pulled it off beautifully, lovely rooms tastefully decorated, a sensational garden and awesome breakfast whatever your taste. In all it proved a wonderful stay. The Bay Trees is located in the heart of Milford on Sea with convenient parking adjacent and nearby. Milford on Sea is a foodies delight with excellent restaurants within easy walking distance of The Bay Trees. The food at Le Perle was just delightful. As a walking location the New Forest offers everything, a coastal walk to Hurst Castle and along the sea marshes to Lymington, Woodland walking to the south of Brockenhurst taking in Boldre and an open heathland walk near Thorney Hill.

Room Tip: All the rooms were of an equal quality. One room is situated on the ground floor, opening into the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a really lovely time. Mark and Sarah couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with a cup of tea and home made cakes, always appreciated after a journey. The room we stayed in was large, clean and very comfortable as was the Four Poster bed. There was a great choice for breakfast which was hot, fresh and delicious. Position of the guest house is perfect and a great choice of restaurants close by. We would hope to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
8.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Property: The Bay Trees
Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing