We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome to a lovely b&b located within a stones throw of the new forest coast.”
Review of The Bay Trees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great stay at The Bay Trees. Our hosts were so welcoming and helpful. The rooms were elegant and very comfortable and we had the best nights sleep! An ideal spot in the New Forest, close to the beach and to some delicious eateries. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have stayed in lots of Alistair Sawday's recommended B and Bs over the years both here and in France and enjoyed and appreciated almost all of them, but The Bay Trees is outstanding. Mark and Sarah super hosts; tastefully furnished bedrooms with lovely linens and comfy beds and very modern bathrooms are to the highest standard and the breakfasts absolutely delicious including lots of home made jams and granola, fresh eggs etc. Warmly greeted with a cream tea and given access to their beautiful garden 'at any time' made our 2 night stay hugely relaxing and memorable. We felt we were staying with friends who just wanted to do everything they could to ensure our enjoyment - and they certainly did just that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Bay Trees was booked solid, but we got our reservation in just in time. We entered the door and were immediately impressed with “The Bay Trees”, the smell of bay leaves wafted all around. Mark and Sarah showed us to our room that has the most elegant en-suite wet room I have seen in a long time. The Garden is beautiful and full of life like the chickens and the friendliest of springer spaniel pets. Breakfast was a pleasure and lived up to the Gold award it richly deserved. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 has the best wet room I have seen in a long time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at The Bay Trees B&B for two nights but wished it was longer! The accommodation was superb even the Sherry in our room. A welcoming tea with homemade scones was a thoughtful touch. The breakfast choice was great and was nice to know all locally sourced. The gardens were a gorgeous place to explore and very pretty. All in all Mark and Sarah made us very welcome and very spoilt!

Room Tip: Blue room gorgeous with huge en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful building. Our reception by Mark and Sarah and their wonderful pets was very warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Loads of extras in the room. Double aspect room so no noise from road as opened window overlooking the rear. Fabulous home cooked breakfast in the conservatory. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpyEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a very pleasant and relaxing weekend with 4 other friends and, as none of us had visited The Bay Trees before, had no idea of what to expect. Sarah and Mark were welcoming, chatty, helpful and made us feel at home immediately. The opportunity to view the rooms before the others arrived was welcome but we didn't need to choose the best room as they were all equally comfortable, welcoming, warm and cosy. Tea, coffee, biscuits, chocolates, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries were all available and gave a bit of an air of luxury which was lovely. The homemade cakes and tea were served in the conservatory which overlooks the beautiful garden and we had the opportunity to watch the new pup and resident moggy (!) make friends and play around. We were advised on where to eat and drink in the village and other places to drive to: the beach is less than 10 mins walk away, horse-riding was about 20 mins by car and we even found a pub not too far away for the rugby. The Bay Trees is perfectly located, extremely comfortable and well worth the visit - thank you Sarah and Mark Jo

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Six friends descended on Milford on sea looking forward to a relaxing weekend. We arrived at Sarah's and Mark's home and were welcomed warmly with homemade cake and tea. The new pup had just arrived and appeared at home in Mark's arms. The bedrooms were all comfortable and had a range of teas and coffees and delicious shortbread biscuits, a real treat. Breakfast was amazing with a wide range of choices all cooked to perfection. Mark had advised us on places to eat and drink and we were wined and dined at two of the local restaurants which were both amazing. We packed loads into our weekend with horse riding, a trip to the local vineyard, a visit to the local castle ruins and a walk along the beach.
This charming B&B is in an ideal location and will allow you to rest, relax and feel throughly spoilt.
We left with fond memories and plan to return very soon. Jasmine and friends

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
776 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#2 of 9 in Milford on Sea
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#3 of 9 in Milford on Sea
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £128 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. ALWAYS BOOK DIRECT via OUR WEB SITE, E MAIL or TELEPHONE. WE ACCEPT PAYMENT BY CASH or DEBIT CARD issued by a UK Bank. Our relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing