We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Trees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

My husband and I booked two nights for Valentine weekend in Milford on Sea. The hosts Amanda and Rob were lovely and keen to answer any of the questions we had.
Our room was the garden room with double doors to the patio and views of the garden, a seating area with sofa and next to it a little table with table lamp, and on the other side of the room a table with tea/coffee (organic and herbal), biscuits, chocolate mints and a carafe of sherry. Also large wardrobes with plenty of hangers. The double bed was very comfortable and had two bedside tables with lamps above each and if you got chilly there was a spare blanket in the wardrobe.
The bathroom was huge - a little strange in shape and only separated from the bedroom by a small arch and a curtain (so turn on the TV or the bedside clock radio of you want privacy!). It had a large shower, large double bath, WC and a single basin. Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were provided. The room was very quiet.
Breakfast was served from 8.30-9.30am in the conservatory and it is all cooked fresh to order. The smoked haddock is wonderful and the scrambled great. Papers were available in the conservatory. You could help yourself to fruit juice (orange and/or grapefruit), cereals, fresh fruit salad as well as stewed fruits (apricots, prunes, apples). There was also a choice of jams and honey and some seeds for those who really want a very healthy breakfast. Toast was also provided.
In the entrance hall, there was a table with plenty of information about the local area and you are only 5 minutes away from the sea (very large pebbles on the beach). I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — parking facilities limited to 2 hours nearby
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rotterdam0892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2008

We stayed at The Bay Trees in October 2007 while attending a wedding, the B &B is right by the sea, we stayed on the ground floor the bedroom was large with a sofa in as well as the bed the bathroom was very large with a separate shower and bath, there was also french doors out to the patio where you could sit and relax and a small fridge where we could store drinks e.t.c.

The garden is lovely take time to walk around it, the proprietors Robert & Amanda Fry where always on hand to answer any questions, Breakfast was amazing as good as any 5* hotel, and freshly cooked.

The area that the B & B is located is lovely a small village with a few pubs and shops and a great walk along the beach.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Parking was a problem
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cariblisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

We decided on this based on reviews in Alistair Sawday and Tripadvisor for a weekend getaway. It didn't fail to impress. The room (I stayed in the family room with my friend and we also had a single room next to it and a shared bathroom for the three of us) was very elegant, and the beds comfortable. Lovely little touches like sherry and very nice robes. The breakfast was supremely good and served in the conservatory - I had freshly smoked haddock, which was very tasty. We paid £40 a head, which was extremely reasonable given the high standard of the place.

Milford on Sea is a bit of an in-between town, but it is a good starting point for a cliff walk (Barford/Barton? on Sea cafe was our goal and it took us about an hour and a half strolling - and a taxi back!).
We had cocktails in the posh hotel on the cliff in Milford-on-sea (westover hall), but were disappointed by the service and the fact that while they showed us menus, they omited to tell us they had no space for supper, even for some of their guests, so I was glad we weren't staying there! Everything was packed on a Saturday night, so we had an early meal in the EXCELLENT curry house in Milford that has only just opened. Lunch in Lymington (the Fisherman was recommended by our taxi driver) was very good too.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — TV not visible from single bed (but hey, I wasn't there for the tv!)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

My husband and I booked a double bed room for one nigt, I wish we had stayed longer. We were given the Garden Room. The room is wonderful, with views of the garden, large patio doors, which lead out to a covered garden room and a beautiful garden. The breakfast was excellent, and served in a pretty conservatory room. Out hosts were charming. I would highly recommend this B&B. Not near the sea, but a nice walk away, but that didn't matter as the room and bathroom were so nice. I would not hesitate to recommend this place and would go back again.

  • Liked — No Traffic noise
  • Disliked — It was perfect, nothing not to like
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
8.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Property: The Bay Trees
Address: 8 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing