We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, functional rooms”
Review of Warbrook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warbrook House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eversley
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great price, functional rooms”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

WE went to the main reception and were told that we were in the Grange which was a 5 minute walk away, although we did manage to find a car parking space. The route to our room was through a coffee area and through a small back staircase where the carpet was pretty grubby. The room was tiny, you could just get down each side of the bed. The TV was a small old style portable, but worked OK. The bathroom looked as if it had been partially refurbished as there were a lot of new looking tiles. It's a pity the tiles didn't extend to the bath ledge which were old white tiles with very dirty looking grout. The mattress tended to make you roll towards the middle a bit. The main positives were for the price it was decent value and the location for us was very good. I did however expect the hotel to be a little more upmarket. I think it caters for mainly business conferences rather than as a leisure destination. Service staff were very good. If you can get it for under £50 I would recommend it - it not use one of the other well advertised chains.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    187
    153
    97
    77
See reviews for
106
236
25
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

After booking this hotel I was in two minds about it due to the negative feedback on TripAdvisor... However after staying here from Jan16th to Jan19th on a romantic break I can honestly say don't believe all you read on here!
On arrival you see such wonderful views, this hotel is stunning!
Doors were opened for us like royalty, we had no wait for check in, they offer us all we were going to ask for, they pointed us in the directions of everything we needed too. The staff are incredibly polite and well mannered!
Our room wasn't in the main manner house, it was in the Grange just down the driveway... But it was so beautiful, we didn't feel down graded by not being in the house at all.
The room we was in (52) was so spacious, the bathroom too and the bed was probably one of the comfiest hotel room beds you'll sleep in.
We didn't try the food as we were eating out most the time so I can't possibly comment on it. However the drink prices were a little pricey... but the company/ service was great.
The only thing I could complain about if I had to was the little staining on the mirrors and dust on cupboards. But don't let this effect your view on the hotel... its a big place a little dust here and there isn't a biggy.
I won't upload any photos as the professional ones are spot on!
Thanks for a great weekend and we'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RebCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a lovely place. Arrived and was put into the other part of the hotel, but a quick phone call to reception and we upgraded ourselves into a suite with no problems at all. I would recommend room 37. Receptionist was very helpful, and the staff very helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 37 is suite and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmwcsl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having read the reviews on tripadvisor after making a reservation at De Vere Warbrook House and Grange, we were not expecting to be pleased with our choice of accommodation. However, it surpassed expectations. The room and bathroom were a modern contemporary style offering spacious accommodation, complete with ironing board/iron, hairdryer, safe, tea/coffee making facilities and plasma screen TV. There is also a very comfortable lounge area in the Grange offering more plasma TV's. free tea/coffee & fresh water facilities. A great place to play a game of cards, which is what we did until 2:30am! We chose to have breakfast in the main house which is a bit of a walk from The Grange but when the weather is fine, it is extremely pleasant to walk and take in some of the beautiful scenery. Breakfast was a little disappointing as it had been sitting for some time. This was partly our own fault as we didn't arrive to dine until gone 10am and breakfast finishes at 10:30am. De Vere Warbrook House & Grange are set in the most delightful grounds. There is a fantastic restaurant locally called 'The Tally Ho'. It's not cheap but offers wonderful cuisine. All in all, we had a thoroughly lovely stay at De Vere Warbrook House & Grange for £39.00 per room with an additional £8.50 per person for breakfast, which, of course, if optional. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you can get a reasonable room rate.

Room Tip: We had a room in The Grange and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexSlippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were here for my son's wedding on 29th December. The venue was perfect. Hotel decorated beautifully, food was superb. They catered for everyone and the staff were very attentive. Couldn't have wished for better.
Slight niggle - we had someone in a wheelchair and I am not sure they have really thought through how to cater for this - lift not working (I appreciate it was over Christmas period and maybe could not be repaired) but it did make it a bit more difficult than it needed to have been.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I'm generally quite a positive person and review the places I visit as such but in all honesty the only positive aspect of this stay was that we only paid £20 for the room on the De Vere Sale - otherwise I might have complained.

Firstly the grounds are beautiful. However, though we booked 4 months in advance, I wasn't told until 9pm the night before the visit that the restaurant and bar service wouldn't be available because they were booked out for a private Christmas function. I accept that this may be an inevitability of some December bookings but a) they must have known this long in advance of the day before b) it's quite a night killer when there's nothing else within walking distance and you want to be able to have a bottle of wine and c) after visiting I can't understand why they didn't cater for us in the separate annexe building that has it's own kitchen?

Not deterred we decided to go to the only pub that was recommended by the hotel as within 'walking distance' the Tally Ho - unfortunately we never made it as what the hotel also forgot to mention is that the path is completely unlit by the side of a really busy road and the path in fact disappears for some stretches of the twenty minute walk. IN the end we just gave up and got room service! Nice as the room service was it wasn't really what we'd planned on a romantic night away.

My tip would be to go on the De Vere sale and visit somewhere like East Horlsey which is not only a bargain but a lovely place to visit - Warbrook seems to be letting the site down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had the bar menu in the restaurant as it was "Christmas" apparently and were not operating at full capacity. Chips over cooked, veg under cooked, staff were unaware of what Bearnaise sauce was and I was thrust with mayonaise as a replacement. Staff were slow, food was cold and the wine menu - limited. I would never go here again.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_H_1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eversley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eversley
0.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
5.7 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.3 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Elvetham
The Elvetham
#1 of 1 in Hartley Wintney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ely
The Ely
#1 of 2 in Yateley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warbrook House

Property: Warbrook House
Address: The Street, Eversley, Hook RG27 0PL, England (Formerly De Vere Warbrook House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Eversley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eversley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warbrook House 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Warbrook House TRADITIONAL HOTEL, INCREDIBLE SURROUNDINGS Tucked away in 130 acres of natural woodland, Warbrook House, Hook is the ideal location for conferences, events, weddings, or simply relaxing in the countryside. It is conveniently located near the Berkshire-Hampshire border, and close to Heathrow Airport and Central London, which is accessible by train with connections from Reading train station. A Grade I listed mansion full of the latest high-tech business facilities, Warbrook House, Hook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Warbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Warbrook House And Grange Hotel Eversley
De Vere Warbrook Hook
Warbrook House Eversley, Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing