We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

booked in for a 2 night all inclusive stay. Hotel upgraded us to suite as it was for a birthday celebration. Room was lovely. Although it overlooked a housing estate it was quiet & very large. Good swimming pool in leisure centre - very warm. All inclusive deal was very good - soup & sandwiches for lunch., 2 course dinner, full breakfast & also wine/lager/beer from 7-11pm. Wine was Italian - it was fine. Lager was Carling, beer - John Smiths. Staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Hotel is a 10 minute drive from Chester City Centre. We wold definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 - would defintiely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and are happy to recommend the Hotel to others. I do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with again in the very near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    327
    186
    75
    56
See reviews for
145
446
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed for one midweek night with my granddaughter. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable and the only problem I had with the room was that the exterior flood light which illuminates the hotel, shone through the sides of the curtains and I couldn't sleep all night. My granddaughter did though. The bathroom was bright and clean with plenty of room and toiletries. The shower was lovely and hot. Twice we used the pool, which was warm, clean and very peaceful. We both thought that the changing room needed a re-vamp and good clean, not really very pleasant. There was a broken seat in the steam room, which could do with fixing, but no real problem, we still enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful and overall we had a very enjoyable stay. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Not near a flood light !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your comments with regard to your stay and the service received from the team

We do take great pride in our product and service and in particular in our high levels of food quality. I notice you are definitely looking to return and when you do so please do take advantage of our fantastic offers by calling the hotel direct.

We are refurbishing the changing rooms at the moment with the gents finished last week. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,


Gwyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

just had to write review after spending a fab weekend at this hotel.From checking in to checking out the service provided was excellent!The staff were all hard working and friendly in particular Corrine Heather Nigel and Jade plus the receptionist whos name ive forgotton but he loves football!The food was a pleasant surprise as i am a chef to trade so quite hard to please but once again first class!Loved the xtra large bed!Will definitely be coming back to visit when we have a weekend free and will be recommending the hotel to all my friends.
Julie Hurley.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind words.

The team are passionate about providing great service so I am genuinely delighted to read your comments and hear that you felt so welcome. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

my husband and myself had a lovely time at this hotel food was fab staff worked really hard to make our stay a pleasent one good value for money although would include spirts in all inclusive karrine went that extra mile to make our stay one we wont forget and cant wait to visit again thank you mrs l brown

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for all the fantastic comments with regards to the food and the team at the hotel. Your review means even more to us due to the fact that “you can’t wait to visit again”.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Mercure Chester North.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from an all inclusive break at this hotel, couldn't really find fault and it was excellent value for money. The staff all seemed to work well as a team no waiting to be seated as the first free person quickly found you a table. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, and a nice touch was not being given rock hard butter with our nice warmed rolls , it was at room temperature already. We too used public transport to get into Chester itself which was no problem. Yes! would agree on arrival the exterior looked past it but soon forgot and enjoyed what was on offer. We had an upgraded room, which looked much the same as the ordinary rooms but with a much bigger bed,which was very comfy. Nice to see a busy bustling hotel with cheerful staff who were more than happy to help.

Room Tip: If you like a big bed ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

my husband and i have just returned from an all inclusive weekend and spent two nights at this hotel. we could not fault anything about the weekend. the hotel did look a bit tired from the outside but once inside it did not disapoint. the staff were all excellent and worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable. the hotel room was extremely clean.the hotel is perfectly situated to explore chester ,liverpool and the surrounding area. i would highly reccomend this hotel and would stay again....next time i would ask for an upgrade in the room, not that there was anything wrong with our room but it would have been nice to see what the other rooms looked like.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
What a wonderful review!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments in relation to your recent experience here at the Mercure Chester North. It is always extremely pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My partner and I took advantage of a special all inclusive offer available for some Mercure hotels and spent two nights at this hotel with a room upgrade.The deal included bed, breakfast, tea and coffee in the bar, soup and sandwiches for lunch, two course dinner with unlimited glasses of wine and wine and beer from 7pm to 11pm Also included was use of their leisure facilities and no parking fees. The staff were very friendly and happy to help whenever they could. The breakfast was buffet style and included all the usual English breakfast components and more tea or coffee was offered. Lunch was nothing special. Dinner, however, was superb. Although only two courses was included in the deal the food was so good we decided to go with the three courses and pay the extra which was not much anyway. There is a frequent local bus service and we were able to go by bus to Chester and take the bus going the opposite way to Liverpool. All together a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The location is quite anyway so I would not anticipate any room being quieter than another
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JANICE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

It is always nice to receive great reviews from our guests. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing