We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
2 reviews
“Poor service and room”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stay in room 110 which on the whole looks okay but the bathroom was very smelly with a broken sink. I am not sure what the walls are made of but I could hear the room next doors tv and alarm that was on silent.
If you manage to get served in the restaurant you will be very luck and allow plenty of time on check out and check you bill
Enjoy

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pigboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback relating to your time here in Chester, however I am not entirely sure that the review was for ourselves as we do not have a room 110. If in fact it was for the Mercure Chester North then I would like to take this opportnuity to apologise for any disturbance caused by other guests in the hotel.

Should you wish to discuss further then I would welcome the chance to clarify the room or issues you had on departure

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    332
    188
    78
    57
See reviews for
146
456
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

my husband and i stayed here and met our friends for a reunion meet.what a great start to the weekend when we were greeted by "matt" at reception.a very pleasent and cheerful man,extremely informative about chester and the surrounding areas.the hotel was very clean and the staff very nice and friendly,a special mention for alesha,lauren and ronnie,very hard working and always a smile on their faces,even when i kept calling ronnie,jeff.we have stayed in other mercure hotels,this one the best so far,would definately call back in this hotel.thankyou all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we do hope to see you many more times in the future. I very much appreciate your comments in relation to the all the staff you encountered and service.

Once again many thanks for your much valued feedback and I look forward to seeing you in the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Matt on reception. The leisure facilities were good, but the changing room could do with a bit of TLC. We had a meal in the restaurant on our first night, which was nice and not overly priced (the chicken ceaser salad was gorgeous!). The bar area is clean and comfortable, as was the bedroom. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
What a wonderful review! It is always great to receive feedback about the team delivering excellent customer service, as we spend a lot of time training our team about exceeding guest expectations.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great hotel, very helpful staff (we've been "saved" twice by Mathew ... THANK YOU Mathew!), very nice on comfy rooms, good breakfast. Location is a bit of a problem, but if you have a car is very easy to move around and get to Chester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoratiuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to say thanks for such a Wonderful review, in particularly towards Matthew who it would appear has gone above and beyond yet again. We work hard here at the hotel to try and ensure that each and every guest that stays with us has the most enjoyable time possible and it appears we are doing that when i read comments such as yours.

Once again many thanks and I shall pass your comments on

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Chose this hotel as I wanted a weekend break with easy travel to visit Chester and Liverpool.
More or less half way between both, this hotel fits the bill perfectly. Easily accessible from the motorway yet far enough into the countryside to be a good 'away from it all' base.
Room was reasonably well appointed, bed comfortable, but general hotel decor was a little tired. Took a meal in the hotel Friday evening and although the restaurant was busy the food wasn't that great quality. Pricing was not exorbitant but not necessarily value for money. Staff, however were excellent, table waiting staff were kind and attentive and even though busy were not grouchy. Full english breakfast each morning was very good. Great selection of hot and cold dishes. Overall a "good" value hotel that maybe needs a little bit of 'polish' to bring it up to 'great'. Would recommend for an overnight break if you were not looking for something special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Of_Loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I would very much like to thank you for your kind comments in relation to your visit to the Mercure Chester North. We are very proud of our hotel and passionately aim offer a fantastic experience for all our guests, and it is very rewarding when guests pass on their feedback which indicates that our efforts are being appreciated.

Once again thank you

Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

lovely staff,great location close to cheshire oaks,chester centre,a lot of fun in the restaurant.
we stoped there for a night on our way back home and we had a great night,thank to all the staff,just the pool and the steam room were not clean enough,but as i sad good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 650Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to the Mercure Woodhey house Hotel. I will of course pass on your nice comments to the team as it is always rewarding when we receive great feedback

Once again many thanks and I look forward to weolcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The welcome was ok ,businesslike but not friendly. Room was fine but stiflingly hot.i asked if this were the norm and told 'yeah it's always like this'
The pool was clean but Sauna didn't work. The changing rooms were dirty with tatty old lockers. Breakfast was good and service friendly. Overall ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardener009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments as they assist us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing