We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try Again {Disabled}”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try Again {Disabled}”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is part two of a four night All inclusive Package which started 71 miles away at the Mercure Goldthorn. My partner had broken her foot and was confined to a wheelchair we were due to stay at the Goldthorn [yes we are disabeled friendly. NO] . We were then sent north west to here a long drive after my drive up from Cornwall but a bed and food. The Staff were fine, as was the hotel. I was able to get the wheelchair to the room and then the luggage it was now 20-30 have spent a long time waiting for somewere to stay when we found that the Goldthorn was not at all suitable and then a 71 mile one hour fourtyfive minute drive. As part of the package we had a two course dinner with a mix of starter/main or main pudding. As a sorry for our problem on the first night there made it three course plus a bottle of wine. This was insead of 125ml glasses that were part of the deal.We were tired and hungry by now and were soon off to bed. A good sized room and disabled friendly, not a lot of wardrobe space for a four night stay but ok. Breakfast was fine with the staff helpful, which was a real help as the self-service breakfast area is not disabled friendly, there is an eight inch step and no ramp.We had not planned to go far once we got to the hotel due to having to use the wheel chair [ a very new experance and the rain and wind]. There is a area around the bar which you share with businiss meetings and others. The restaurant was not open for lunch, so you had to hang on to a table if you wanted your bowl of soup and a sandwich in any comfort. It was soup of the day and no I do not want the same soup every day and the sandwich is not from the menu it.s cheese, ham or tuna. Dinner the menu was dated May 2013 and a fairly limited, I had the chief's signiture dish one night braised beef and colcannon, the meat was far to dry and was served with mashed potato I sent it back. I had belly pork another night which was ok but is was not until our last night [ anther chief I think ] that I relised that we had been short changed on the veg that was served with the meal our last supper was a real treat and we then relised what we had missed!!!! We had free use of the pool sauna steamroom and the gym. I did use the sauna but was put off using the swimming pool as on many morning it was full of babies and mums learning to swim. Now I belive that this is a grand idea, but do wonder as to the state of the water after those sessions. The locker room is very rundown the lockers broken and the room tired. As for the Gym I looked though the window, but not for me. During the day if you wanted a drink or lunch you had to go to recepion and ask for some service, were we realy wanted there? after all we had paid to be there [Mercure Hotels] and I know it was not our hotel of choice but we were mislead. Over all it was ok but not what we had expected.we got off to a bad start and I feel short change with lunch/dinner until dinner on friday our last night.Cleaniness in the room was good .some other areas not so good.

Room Tip: there was a lot of wind noise when I had the window open on the ground floor, it kept me awake until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeep10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    332
    188
    78
    57
See reviews for
146
456
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel which was booked on a buy a gift voucher which cost £99 for two days including breakfast,on arrival we were greeted by the manager who was cheerful and polite as always,we were given a room which we thought was a bit small so asked for a larger one which was absolutely no problem to the staff and for no extra charge,the room was spacious clean and bright,bed was a bit soft but that's just personal preference and not a criticism.As ever we use the hotel as a base for the most part and go off and do our own thing so can't comment on bar prices or restaurant prices however we had breakfast both mornings which was excellent and again the staff were a credit as always.The only minor for me at the hotel is the gym which is very small and the equipment could do with an update but this I stress is a very minor point and had no effect on the enjoyment of our weekend,we look forward to staying again and I would whole heartedly recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltheblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Splendid Accommodation serviced by freindly and helpful staff.
Comfortable room with useful furniture and heating that could be simply adjusted.
Friendly bar with a reasonable selection of beers and other drinks.
Gym & Pool also available. Free Wifi codes provided

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjhtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
I would like to personally take the opportunity of thanking you for your comments in relation to your stay with us here at the Mercure Chester North Hotel. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback and your comments will be passed on to the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an all inclusive 2 night break at this hotel which we enjoyed very much. All the staff we had contact with were polite, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent both for breakfast and for dinner. The room was clean and warm and the bed comfortable. We would be happy to return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshirePrimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
I would very much like to thank you for your kind comments in relation to your visit to the Mercure Chester North. We are very proud of our hotel and passionately aim to offer a fantastic experience for all our guests, and it is very rewarding when I read feedback which indicates that our efforts are being appreciated.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of November to visit family. The hotel met our requirements - clean room and good chambermaid service. Breakfast met our expectations.

Bar meals in the evening acceptable. It was good to be able to order a proper pot of tea in the bar in the afternoon. Would not recommend the dining room in the evening though. It is large and lacks atmosphere, the standard of cooking is a bit hit and miss and some of the combinations of flavours distinctly odd. (Far better to walk to the Cheshire Yeoman along the road which is surprisingly good - you may need to book.)

We didn't need the WiFi or try the leisure facilities. From a price point of view this was cheaper than the Premier Inn and included breakfast. On leaving the management apologised for a disturbance during the night - have to say we hadn't particularly noticed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent experience with us. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well however I would like to apologise that the restaurant wasn't to your liking.

Once again many thanks for your feedback

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
394 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing