We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
1 review
“Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I must take a bit of time to praise the staff at this hotel, having stayed on a number of occasions, nothing seems to be too much trouble, they are all helpful, courteous and willing to please. There is a member of staff who does go beyond and that is a waitress called Pritak, who is the most pleasant person we have met.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time for your wonderful reveiw, I will ensure Pritak and the team see it.

Many thanks and see you next time

Jeff Brimble

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    332
    188
    78
    57
See reviews for
146
456
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed with colleagues for one night. Initial problem checking in as staff were unsure if they had already checked someone into my room. Once they went to check and confirmed they hadn't i was checked in. Room was clean and tidy but tried to use the iron which did not work. Managed to get a replacement from reception. Bar area was unstaffed and had to get staff from reception to serve. Best thing about the stay was the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a reveiw, please accpet my apologies for the bar staff and broken Iron

I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire - England
Level Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is situated about 7 miles north of Chester and close enough to Liverpool to visit. Excellent train service for both. Don't bother with your car. The hotel rooms are good, well kitted out and all the staff that we met were great. We went on the all inclusive break which was terrific value. I expected the wine to be poor but it was excellent as was the food. The only downside was that there was a wedding on the Saturday and the disco was very loud and kept my wife awake. After a few glasses of wine it did not bother me at all. We really enjoyed the break and will go back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImmigrantTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank You for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend break and I must say. Wow!!!!!! We went for the AI package and it was well worth it. Check in was quick and efficient, rooms small but clean and Bar and Restaurant Staff are the best we have come across in a long time. Spend Saturday in Liverpool and headed back to the Hotel in time for the evening. Compliments to the Chef as the Meals on both nights where fantastic. Breakfast was brilliant too. Can only recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank calverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Found it by accident on late rooms. Used the site to book a month in advance . No problems.
Turned up on the booked date and was greeted by very friendly and welcoming front desk staff. Very informative and helpful. Original booking breakfast not included, not a problem, breakfast booked added to the bill and worth it.Very good. Great start. Room ready and so checked straight in. Was using the place for a one night stop over for a visit to a local restaurant with friends.
Room very comfortable, clean and decent bed. Taken the main address for booking details on my next to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_marshall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Just had yet another stay at this hotel what can I say the all inclusive offer is well worth the money .this our second stay and the food was even better the two course meal was lovely I fancied the rib eyed steak and it was only £6 supplement will defiantly be paying another visit both me and I my fiancée really enjoyed our stay thx to all staff

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Not perfect, but very good value for money. Booked 2 nts A.I. through third party Co. This was Valentines night and then the Wifey's birthday on the Saturday. Arrived and were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff and we were advised if the room was not quite right to get straight back to reception. Two singles were soon changed into a double whilst we had soup and sandwiches. Not enough clothes hanging space or draws in the room. Don't rely on comment of any upgrade to an executive room, they are all the same, rather small. Room staff very pleasant though. Usual bit of damp/dirt in shower area. A tooth brush would sort this. Then visit to Chester, not far away at all. Evening meal, two courses were enough, slight upgrade for some menu choices. Started with a deep fried poached egg on spinach, it was lovely. Salmon En Croute, pastry was not cooked enough but rest of food good. Wine flowed with little difficulty, attentive staff were always on hand to get me another glass or two. Into the bar and more wine, chat with new friends, Tom and Norma, thanks for the entertainment you two. Sorry we missed you on day two, went to bed early, too much wine. Meal on second night, Cesar salad, very nice if a bit basic and then Seabass on noodles, these were meant to be spicy, no they weren't. Breakfast both mornings was self service. But check the notices, you can get smoked haddock, kippers, freshly done eggs etc. Bedroom walls etc are paper thin, got quite noisy with screaming kids etc, why were they there on Valentines night. DO NOT park your car under the trees, I think elephants climb them and mess all over your car!! Price £188.00, that works out at £47.00 for each day, DBB, lunch and wine or beer from 7-11. We will be trying other hotels which have this offer in the future, Great Little Breaks.

Room Tip: You can't get an upgrade they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KADScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
394 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing