We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Does the job no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed here as a base to explore Chester and the surrounding area. The hotel while a little tired looking from the outside was quite welcoming and freindly. The staff at reception when we checked in were very helpfull and the staff in the bar during the evening were the same.
We stayed in room 117, close to the gym and pool on the ground floor.
The pool is quite small but good for the kids, the water is warm and there is a sauna and steam room.
The room itself was clean and our sheets were changed daily the three nights we stayed here. I cant comment on the food as we ate out each evening.
All in all i would stay here again.
All in all i would stay here again

Room Tip: Room 117, a triple, was on the ground floor, very close to the gym and pool, great for a family of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your reveiw, we hope to see you again

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    324
    185
    74
    55
See reviews for
143
442
21
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights during the week and was chosen from a selection provided through "Buy a gift. com". On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly man on reception who could not have done more to make us feel welcome.
Our room was as expected, very spacious, bright and clean. The bathroom was fine with good quality toiletries provided. As I am recovering from a broken leg I did find it a bit difficult getting into the bath to use the shower and would have found a grab rail on the wall very useful.
Whilst we were there the weather was quite warm and there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms and we were unable to leave the window open all night as there was a lot of traffic noise from the main road.
There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms which worked very well and a hairdryer and iron and board should you need it.
Our package included breakfast which was very good there was the usual cereals and juice etc
and freshly cooked items to help yourself or you could have different types of eggs cooked to order. The only thing I felt let it down was the tinned fruit cocktail, I would have liked fresh fruit salad or grapefruit or prunes. The staff - a lady and a man in the restaurant were both lovely very friendly and attentive and could not have done more to help, the best restaurant staff I think we have ever encountered first thing in the morning.
We chose not to eat in the hotel in the evening as thought the prices were quite expensive especially in the bar area and also felt the choice was quite limited.
Overall we did enjoy our stay and will certainly consider this hotel the next time we travel to this area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your reveiw, hope to see you agin next time

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here and found it an hotel in need of a good updating. Beds and linen clean but lots of evidence of poor cleaning in the bathroom. Very overpriced in my opinion.Bar was very expensive and breakfast not worth the money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlech6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your reviw

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked this hotel via a KGB voucher as we thought it was excellent value for money,it was all inclusive. We wanted a hotel close to Chester and this was about 15 min drive from the city center,it is also a good base for exploring north wales,the Wirral peninsular or Liverpool. The hotel is very modern with good facilities. The bedroom was clean and bright with the usual facilities you would expect from a modern hotel. The one downside was the traffic noise which was quite loud from the busy main road,it was a warm night and we had to leave the window open as there is no air conditioning in the room.
The food in the restaurant was good especially the breakfast which had very good quality ingredients. All the staff were very friendly especially the 2 girls behind the bar, although they had to keep helping out in the restaurant so service was sometimes a little slow, I think it would be better to have someone behind the bar at all times. The lady who served us in the restaurant in the evening was very attentive and very quick to keep our wine glasses filled, and the couple who served us breakfast were also very good, in fact the gentleman,sorry I forgot his name, was like a human sat nav if you wanted any information or directions to many of the local attractions he was more than happy to give some very good advice.
The hotel also has a gym and a swimming pool,neither of which I used, so I can't comment on them. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if we wanted a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your reveiw, I am glad you enjoyed your stay

Kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked an inclusive break for a weekend in May. After a fraught journey on the M5 and M6, we were warmed greeted by Matt on reception. The room was very good – a long walk from reception – but it was on a corner and thus had two windows, giving us differing views. The bed was huge and comfortable, though personally we could always do with firmer pillows. The bathroom, too, was clean and of excellent quality. There was a good range of options for the evening meal and the waitressing staff were very attentive. Breakfast also was good. The first morning I asked for soya milk which they did not have, and then I asked if they could get some in for me the next morning. I wasn’t very hopeful judging by the look on the young waitress’s face but, sure enough, it was there the next day. The wifi signal was poor in our room but OK in the restaurant and lounge – apparently they had been experiencing problems, and apologised in advance when we checked in. The hotel is in a good location, between Chester and Liverpool, and I would gladly go back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words we look forward to welcoming you back

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing