We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay, the Staff are wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just had 3 nights stay at the above hotel. On a all inclusive Great Little Break, booked through Hotelshop .com. The booking procedure was impeckable and went without a hitch. We were allocated a beautyful room on the 1st floor. As my wife and I both have limited mobility we asked for a room on the groundfloor. Kusuma from housekeeping took us to an even nicer room on the ground floor very near the pool which we took full advantage of. The Restrauant was very well laid out and the food was superb, very well presented,the staff are excellent and always on hand should you need anything There is quite an extensive menu for both the bar and the Restrauant. Breakfast was a help your self buffet style there was plenty of everything on show, too numerous to mention, so you can fill up for the day. In all it was great value for money ,we had a realy enjoyable stay, we definatly go there again

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan356356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

What a lovely reveiw thank you so much for taking the time, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed overnight as part of a girls weekend. Lovely lady on reception, who was extremely polite and efficient.Room had all the necessary fittings, did not have time to try the pool area.
Restaurant lacked a bit of atmosphere and very few dining, but food fine and well presented, staff helpful and friendly.
Breakfast adequate staff very efficient but room for improvement on choice and variety of fruit. Good value overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joannegromito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many thanks for your reveiw, hope to see you again soon

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here overnight with a group of friends on a visit to Chester Races. We had an excellent deal and the staff, rooms, food were of a really good standard. We had no trouble getting taxis into town. Will definitely stay again if a similar deal is available.
Would get 5 stars if I felt paying the full price offered the same value.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words it is much appreciated, we hope to see you again

Kind regards

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here by accident when Easy jet cancelled my flight home on 19/7/2014 and sent me here. There seemed to be problems getting us booked in .May not have been hotels fault . I found it difficult to find my room with little help given . The room itself was almost perfect .Everything there that a person would need in a room . TV, Tea, Coffee Iron Desk and Chairs .The Shower and bath facility was also top class with shampoo and soap supplied .Cleanliness was of a high standard and the room was warm and very comfortable . All round excellent high class facilities and I enjoyed my night there . The bar was also nice . Food was excellent to but service extremely slow . I would recommend the hotel and if in the area I would use again without hesitation .

Room Tip: Depending on a persons needs .I was given a double or family room which would be excellent for any f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very muh for your kind words

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel for my husband’s birthday weekend. When I rang the hotel to make the booking I spoke to Matthew Flannery who assured me and confirmed by E-mail that we would be assigned an executive room because my husband would be celebrating that weekend.
Upon arrival we were given room 224. I asked the woman on the desk if this was an executive room, she told me it was. Room 224 was NOT an executive room, it was just the same as most of the other rooms. This was disappointing. Having said that the room was clean and had the usual hotel look about it. There was a flat screen TV on the wall, a desk and chair, one other not very comfortable chair and a double bed with awfully flat pillows. The on-suite had a bath with a shower over it, a wash basin and a toilet. Toiletries were supplied and they were quite good quality.
Our stay included meals and limited drinks between 7pm and 11pm. Our first evening meal was not a good experience. We were seated at a table that had been set without napkins. A waitress was setting the table next to us so I asked her for some napkins, she put the napkins that she had in her hand down on the table that she was setting and went and got us some small paper serviettes, I eventually had to go and get the napkins off of the adjoining table myself. The menu had reasonable choices on it, I had the prawn cocktail for starters, it came in a small wine glass with the Mary Rose sauce in a shot glass, I did not think that serving food in a narrow rimmed wine glass was such a good idea, it made it difficult to eat. My main dish was Chicken with creamy mashed potato, green beans and a white sauce. The dish came minus the green beans, they had been replaced with some slimy looking courgette slices, as soon as I removed the chicken off the top of the potato I could see a quite large black lump that looked like a bad eye from the potato, also there were odd coloured lumps throughout the potato that I think were in-growing roots that had not been removed when the potatoes were peeled. I did make the staff aware of the problems with the dish, they apologised and offered a free sweet in compensation. My husband did get a candle in his sweet on his birthday.
There was a nice array of things to eat for breakfast, all the usual things that you would expect to see. Breakfast was self-service and the waitresses were available to get you tea or coffee. Again little care had been taken over the resetting of the tables, on both mornings we found that there was no or not enough butter, jam and sugar on the table, meaning that we again had to go scouting around other tables for supplies that should have been replenished before we sat down.

We did use the pool, towels were available from reception if you asked for them but there was no notice to tell you to ask at reception, you could have used the towels in the room but that would have left you without dry towels in your room. The water in the pool was very warm. There was a steam room and a sauna available if you wanted to use them, there was no extra charge for using them.
WIFI is available free of charge but it was painfully slow, OK if you just want to check your mail.
Overall we had a reasonably pleasant stay but we did feel that some staff training is required especcially in the restaurant.
The hotel is near to a park and ride railway station (about 3min by car) it costs 80p to park all day and the trains to Liverpool and Chester come every 15mins.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback please accept my apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently stayed here for a night for my sons birthday as he wanted to stay in a hotel, and as my aunt and uncle were staying here for a week while over from Africa it was ideal. we couldn't book online as we were a family of 4. Rang reception who was extremely help full. All staff were friendly room lovely and clean. The pool was clean warm we spent hours in there. The breakfast was fantastic lots of variety of foods and drink. The staff even got my son a cake nothing seemed to much trouble for any of the staff. We were in and out alot through the week visiting. Aunt and uncle didnt have a bad thing to say about hotel and they were there for a week and loved all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bayley0195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It was our pleasure - I am glad all enjoyed it

Thank you for your reveiw and kind words about the team, it means a lot to us

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed here as a base to explore Chester and the surrounding area. The hotel while a little tired looking from the outside was quite welcoming and freindly. The staff at reception when we checked in were very helpfull and the staff in the bar during the evening were the same.
We stayed in room 117, close to the gym and pool on the ground floor.
The pool is quite small but good for the kids, the water is warm and there is a sauna and steam room.
The room itself was clean and our sheets were changed daily the three nights we stayed here. I cant comment on the food as we ate out each evening.
All in all i would stay here again.
All in all i would stay here again

Room Tip: Room 117, a triple, was on the ground floor, very close to the gym and pool, great for a family of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your reveiw, we hope to see you again

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
22.9 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
421 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
503 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range: £55 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing