We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money, but minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good value for money, but minor issues”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We returned home on Sunday from a 4 day break, staying at the Woodhey House hotel for 3 nights. Check in was smooth, Karen on reception was a pleasure to chat too, creating a warm welcoming atmosphere. The room 123 was very dark, which was a bit disappointing, heavy overhaning trees blocked all of the natural light, but on the plus side, it was very clean and quite a good size, I suppose if the lack of light had been such a huge issue to us we could have asked to be moved, but didn't intend staying in the room for too long. The bathroom had a bath and shower which was good, particularly when I had been tramping round Chester all day, a nice soak was just what I needed, toiletries were provided too.
The pool and spa are both worth a visit.
Food was good, plenty of variation. Breakfast was a bit slow at refilling but that is being addressed, the staff are very obliging if you want something which isn't out ask for it and they will do everything to provide it.
The hotel is approx 20 mins walk from the village of Little Sutton, (turn left out of the hotel, left again onto main road, left when you come to the main crossroads and carry on walking down past the housing estate). fabulous Thai resteraunt which looks very drab from the outside, but is a little gem when you go upstairs.Food was gorgeous. turn left at the crossroads into the centre, drop in at the Red Lion, live bands playing, thurs/fri/saturday and a very clean pub.
I would reccomend the Woodhey house hotel, it is defintley the staff that make it such a pleasant place to stay, special mention to Karen on reception and April, who seems to work 24 hrs a day, keep smiling ladies you make a difference. : ))
A nice patio area would be an asset, there is ample parking, so taking off a small corner for a patio area would not be detrimental to the hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi is bad throughbout the hotel as is receiving calls and texts. Ground floor back rooms are sheil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    332
    188
    78
    57
See reviews for
146
456
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our all inclusive break last week. We did wonder what to expect when we saw the price but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable with a larger than king size bed. There was tea available in the lounge which was a comfortable relaxing area. The food was a very high standard and beautifully presented. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is also a lovely swimming pool and gym area. It was an excellent break and we would definitely recommend it. There is also plenty of interesting places nearby

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prestonbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good value Hotel if on the all inclusive package,nice breakfast with good quality sausage and bacon,lovely 2 course evening meal,comfortable room with good wi-fi.
Special mention to Sharon on reception who arranged for a local garage to come to the rescue when i locked my keys in the car although all the staff seemed friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed it

See you again soon.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a two night stay here reception staff were very welcoming room clean and very comfortable enjoyed a delicious meal we would definitely stay here again ideally situated for Chester Liverpool and also coast

Room Tip: Our room was near busy road but although we kept windows open was still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for a lovely reveiw, see you next time !

kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

fantastic staff make a really nice hotel absolutely perfect
the food is stunning , better in the evening than breakfast to be honest .
if I was being picky the wi fi signal and telephone signal is not good at the back of the hotel so ask for a room with good wifi conections if you will be using it

all staff are brilliant , but have to single out april , super waitress , but others are really good too .
will love to revisit this hotel again

Room Tip: ask at reception if you need a room with wi fi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely reveiw, I will pass your comments on
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here as a last minute deal including evening meals and have variable impressions of our stay.
The hotel is optimistically called North Chester, could just as easily be South Ellesmere Port, makes it good for visiting a variety of places, Chester, The Wirral, Liverpool and the National Waterways Museum Ellesmere Port.
The hotel though is only surrounded by it's car park, there are no grounds and virtually nowhere to walk, save down the old lane adjacent to it but there is nowhere really accessible as an alternative drinking or eating venue on foot.
The breakfast and evening meals are adequate, from the same menu most Mercure restaurants offer, and for a hotel chain, reasonable. The beer selection is poor, why no guest real ales? The house wine is passable only especially when served warm, incredible in a French Hotel.
There is a very good swimming pool / sauna / steam room and an attached gym.
Our room was comfortable, standard quality and as Accor members we received free wifi.
What let the hotel down were the staff, they kept disappearing, the bar wasn't constantly manned and the ones around appeared to be trainees who had precious little initiative. In the restaurant though, I have to commend April who ran around trying to attend to everyone whilst the others simply meandered.
It's all impressions at the end of the day and it's the staff who make the difference in any hotel, pity that most of the staff here don't try the extra inch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Many thanks for your reveiw, we ordinarily get great feedback on our staff please accept my apologies, this isn't our normal standard.

Kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel Little Sutton, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing