We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Scotmac1
Scotland, United Kingdom

Afternoon Tea.

Review of Cromlix
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2017via mobile
We booked this family event some weeks ago, you have to, its so good and therefore very busy.
We were shown into the lounge area and given the "tea menu" by very attentive staff who explained the routine. Already this place started to look and sound just great.
Lovely old hotel that has been renovated back to its former glory and all done with great taste.
We have dined here for both lunch and dinner and it was fabulous.
Back to our afternoon tea.
When it came, it was marvellous, so fresh and what a selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes.
Every item was superb, and our various choice tea selections were repeatedly refreshed as the afternoon passed. The service throughout the day was excellent in every way.
Enough said, just go and be prepared to be delighted with a traditional afternoon tea served by wonderful staff in adorable surroundings...!
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this review
Responded 9 May 2017
Dear Scottmac1, Thank you very much for spending time to write a review on your recent Afternoon Tea with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. It is fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience from the delicious sweet treats to our attentive, friendly team. Once again, thank you very much for visiting Cromlix and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the house.

Kind Regards,

Graeme Green
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£138
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £138
  • Tripadvisor
    £138
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from Cromlix
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
£75
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £84
  • Tripadvisor
    £75
  • Priceline
2.9 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£300
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £201
5.9 miles from Cromlix
The Family Room at the Stirling Court Hotel
Booking.com
£89
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Expedia.com
    £89
6.3 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    £125
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
6.5 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£154
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
6.7 miles from Cromlix
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £80
6.8 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£160
  • Hotels.com
    £153
  • Expedia.com
    £154
  • Vio.com
    £160
7.1 miles from Cromlix
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£84
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
    £84
7.8 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kinbuck
Reviews (1,842)
Filter reviews
1,842 results
Traveller rating
1,458
203
113
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,458
203
113
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea andy murray open kitchen tennis courts drawing room country house upgraded to a suite scones birthday lunch special occasion car park every member of staff bruce suite venison an overnight stay public rooms lounge area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,842 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

beautiful hotel great surroundings ,had lunch today and it was amazing ,very attentive staff I had the cod and it was one of the best plates of food I have in a very long time will be back soon thank you for a lovely day

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank culturedLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Dot B, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community regarding your recent lunch with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. It is great to read such compliments and I will be sure to pass on all kind words to the Chef and the rest of the team. It would be our pleasure if we could welcome you back to the house in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

I booked Cromlix for a surprise birthday present and I can't recommend it highly enough. The hotel and grounds are absolutely stunning. It is a beautiful place to escape to, quiet and secluded. The staff are what make Cromlix so special. They couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming - we were even given a room upgrade which was a great surprise and made our stay even more memorable. From the moment we arrived we were looked after - Louise who greeted us at reception was fantastic. Dinner was delicious, breakfast was superb and we certainly made use of the bar too! It's perfect. Thank you so much for making such happy memories on my mum's birthday. We can't wait to come back and visit again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank danielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Danielle S, thank you very much for writing such a kind, charming review on your recent stay with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux for such a special occasion. It is wonderful to read that you had a relaxing and wonderful escape. I will be sure to pass on all of your compliments to the team- in particular Louise. I’m pleased that you are planning to come back to the house, we are all look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards,

Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

As a Huge Andy Murray fan I was so excited to get the opportunity to stay at Cromlix house on May 1st we booked a double room for the night and was absolutely thrilled to be told on arrival that we had been given a free upgrade to the 'Bows Lyon' suite it was amazing the 4poster bed was awesome the rolltop bath was brilliant from the moment we arrived the staff were exceptional could not do enough for us our every whim was catered for the atmosphere in the evening having our after dinner drink in front of the coal fire was so relaxing as for the meal omg the best meal I have ever had then a breakfast to die for the facility's were plentiful with outdoor lawn games tennis courts fishing and lovely grounds to walk in we had a lovely walk round the fishing lock but best of all was at 08.30am watching the door to the chicken coup open and all the chickens run down the ladder made us both smile. If you want excellent room facilities brilliant food very polite attentive staff in a calm surrounding I would highly recommend this Hotel we were made to feel special and treated to a wonderful stay my only regret is we only stayed 1 night when funds allow we will definitely be back ideally for 3 nights. Well done to all at Cromlix House for a wonderful night

Room tip: All rooms are in quite grounds the only noises we could hear was birdsong
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank moironside
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Moironside, Thank you ever so much for spending the time to write such a fantastic on your recent stay with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed a complimentary upgrade – our Bowes Lyon Suite is simply beautiful! Additionally, it is so lovely to read that you took advantage of our stunning surroundings and took a stroll to our house loch and saw the Chickens in the early hours of the morning. Overall, I’m glad you had such a fantastic stay and I will pass on all your kind words to the team, we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the house.
Kind Regards,
Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We were booked for just one night but it was so nice that we stayed for a second one.
The first day, relatives were joining us for lunch and we really needed to get into our room beforehand because the hotel we had just left had no water, so we hadn't been able to wash that morning. The Cromlix staff pulled out all the stops for us, they were wonderful and had a room ready for us very early - very much appreciated.
Food, staff, and room were all excellent. We enjoyed wandering around the grounds, ambling through the little kitchen garden, saying, 'hello,' to the chickens ....
The hotel is in an old house but the restaurant is modern with the chefs cooking within it. I didn't dislike the restaurant arrangements but did find the transition from hotel to restaurant a little odd.
I don't often order scrambled egg but I had no hesitation here and it was the best ever! Which sums up the food offering at Cromlix.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halcyon_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Halcyon_Times, thank you very much for spending the time to write such kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. I’m very pleased to read that the team worked hard to ensure an early check In, which allowed you to get ready and relax before a delicious meal with relatives. I will be sure to pass on all your compliments to the team, especially our breakfast chefs who served up tasty scrambled eggs. It really would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the house in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Had lunch today. Food was excellent and the house itself was beautiful. But what shone above everything else was the staff. As someone said previously, whoever undertook staff training should be proud. They managed to be so attentive without being over bearing. Everyone of them is a credit to your business, including the hard working kitchen staff, who we enjoyed watching ! Cromlix you are doing a great job.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank haronvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Haronvic, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent lunch with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux with the Trip Advisor community. It really is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed everything. In particular, the service you received from the team. I will be sure to pass on all your kind words to everyone. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the house in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews