We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
TiCATi.com
£765
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hazel
Aberdeenshire

First class service, restaurants a little disappointing

Review of Cromlix
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2017via mobile
We stayed for one night and found it one of the nicest and most relaxing hotels we have stayed at in Scotland. From the moment we arrived, we were waited on hand and foot by wonderful, friendly staff. They all seemed to really enjoy their roles.

We had a large double room (Connery), which was incredibly spacious and almost felt like a mini suite. It was exceptionally clean and well presented. Lots of lovely little details, like a good range of reading materials, complimentary show cleaning service, brolly should you want a walk in inclement weather...it was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had an excellent shower and big bath. Evening turn down service was a nice touch. Other nice touches were that the hotel could organise and pack picnics for you, there were rods available if you fancied fishing on the trout pond...

We had booked into Chez Roux and did really enjoy the food, and the waiting staff were extremely attentive. The menu was good and the canapes served in the bar before hand were really delicious. The only problem with the restaurant was that it lacked ambience. It is a very modern and stark addition to the old building, and with the kitchen incorporated into the dining room, it did feel a bit like a work canteen.

The over areas of the hotel are fabulous, with so many places to choose from to sit down and relax. One thing which would be nice would be some books or magazines in the public areas. There is also a gorgeous whisky tasting room...felt about minus 2 in there, so possibly best to enjoy in summer.

We chose to have breakfast in our room, which was delicious. Much nicer to relax with the morning paper, news and a lovely view over the grounds. Even without a suite there was ample space to sit and eat.

All in all we loved it and would love to go back for a tranquil break.
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2017
Dear Townheadhaze, thank you for taking the time for writing such an in-depth review or your recent relaxing stay with us with Cromlix and Chez Roux and for sharing it with the Trip Advisor community. I am thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Our team work extremely hard to ensure our guests feel at home from the moment they walk in the door, so I am thrilled that they done themselves proud- I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them. The Connery room is beautiful with the most breath-taking views, I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the room and have breakfast looking over the gardens. I am disappointed to read that our restaurant was not to your taste, it certainly is a contrast to the rest of the house. However, I am pleased that is did not affect your stay and you still made fantastic memories. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the house again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Graeme Green
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • TiCATi.com
    £765
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
    £137
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from Cromlix
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
£81
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £70
  • Expedia.com
    £90
2.9 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£130
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £137
  • Agoda.com
    £115
  • Expedia.com
    £137
4.5 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£300
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £202
5.9 miles from Cromlix
The Family Room at the Stirling Court Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
    £89
6.3 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£125
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £125
6.5 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£154
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
6.7 miles from Cromlix
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £69
  • Hotels.com
    £71
6.8 miles from Cromlix
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£160
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    £153
  • Vio.com
7.1 miles from Cromlix
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kinbuck
Reviews (1,842)
Filter reviews
1,842 results
Traveller rating
1,458
203
113
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,458
203
113
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea andy murray open kitchen tennis courts drawing room country house upgraded to a suite scones birthday lunch special occasion car park every member of staff bruce suite venison an overnight stay public rooms lounge area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,842 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Another fantastic evening meal, thank you! Our sons booked us in for an evening meal to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. A lovely warm welcome was given on arrival, with congratulations offered which was a nice touch. Delicious cocktail was served while we perused the menu and canapés arrived while we waited. Every dish was delicious but the soufflé was a definite favourite, again! Worth every calorie! We were brought a small cake with happy anniversary which again was a lovely thought, thank you. The staff are very professional yet still friendly. Our fourth visit and it still feels magical, we will be back and will continue to recommend.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank frecklesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear FrecklesScotland, thank you ever so much for writing such kind words regarding your recent meal with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. What a wonderful gift to receive from your sons, I am thrilled to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed your evening on such a special occasion! It is fantastic to read that everything from the cocktails to our divine soufflé was delicious and worth the calories. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the house to make more memories that will last a lifetime.
Kind Regards,
Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We visited only the public areas, the chapel and the Roux restaurant - so can’t comment on the rooms or breakfast, but from what we saw and experienced, we WILL be back to stay for an overnight or two.
Such a warm welcome from the staff was backed-up by a warm and glowing fireside seat to make our choices for lunch - a great start.
Lunch itself was a first-class dining experience.
Choice, presentation, flavour, service and (I think) value for money were beyond our expectations. A quick tour of the public areas of the hotel, including the chapel was more proof of why we need to spend more time at Cromlix.
Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 367JonathanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Jonathan B, thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of your recent lunch experience with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. It is wonderful to read that prior your meal you could relax by the fire, soaking up the atmosphere then followed with a delicious meal. I’m glad that you took the time to explore around the house and see our authentic chapel – it really is charming! Thank you so much again for your recommendation and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the house again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We visited here for lunch on 5th Nov. I was given a 3 course lunch voucher for my big birthday in June and kept it to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

We received a lovey welcome and were shown through to the bar where we ordered some pre-lunch drinks with some small tasty bites compliments of the chef.

Our lunch was served in the Chez Roux restaurant and from the set menu. It was beautiful and having the chefs cooking area within the restaurant made it interesting to see the foods being prepared and served. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive and, when we retired to the bar area for tea, we were served some petit fours and a lovely touch of two bite size cakes with ‘happy anniversary’ written in chocolate - a lovely touch.
I would definitely recommend and we will return.

The decor is lovely and it was relatively busy. Nice to see that the prices were realistic and not totally over the top for both the food and drinks.

If you haven’t been, I’d say it was better value than the Dormie House at Gleneagles and the staff more attentive.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank raec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Rae C, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a charming, in-depth review of your recent lunch with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. Secondly, thank you so much for sharing some wonderful images of your experience with the Trip Advisor community! It is wonderful to read that from the moment you arrived you were warmly welcomed and treated to high class service until the moment you left. The open plan kitchen is wonderful, it is so lovely to watch the chefs while they quietly create all their masterpieces- each dish really is a work of art.! I will be sure to pass all your kind words onto the team and we do hope we can welcome you back to the house again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

From the minute we arrived at Cromlix for our vow renewal weekend everything was fantastic There are not enough good words in the dictionary to describe our experience - other than simply perfect

Thank you so much to each and every member of staff, you were all great and a credit to Cromlix.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Caroline F, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful five-star review of your recent vow renewal here at Cromlix and Chez Roux. It really was a pleasure being part of this beautiful occasion and I am extremely pleased to read that it was a huge success. I will be sure to pass on all of your compliments onto the team here and we are all looking forward to welcoming you both back to the house again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

I recently visited the Cromlix with my mum and have to say the food was absolutely fantastic. We ate of the set lunch menu and found everything to be delicious. The only thing that let our lunch down was being served warm white wine which when we pointed this out to the sommelier, he suggested we add ice cubes and mentioned that our bottle was now being chilled so our next glass should be ok. This did let things down and I don't think this response was satisfactory at all. Aside from the sommelier, the other staff members were great and as I mentioned previously the food was lovely.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme G, General Manager at Cromlix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Claire M, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us at Cromlix and Chez Roux. I am very glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed each course- the chefs all work extremely hard to create unique and delicious dishes, so I will be sure to pass on your compliments. I am extremely disappointed to read the comments regarding your wine, please rest assured that this is not our standard procedure and I will be sure to investigate this incident and speak with the restaurant management. I do hope that this did not ruin your experience and we would love to welcome you back to the house again soon. If you wish to speak about your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Kind Regards,
Graeme Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews