We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, great service, reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Roux

Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kinbuck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb food, great service, reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with a few friends on Friday Aug 1st.
Everything was perfect.
We were cordially welcomed at the entrance and escorted to the bar for pre-dinner drinks (the oak aged ale was excellent).
Our food orders were taken promptly - but not too promptly!
The food arrived promptly. I had a trio of seafood which looked and tasted wonderful - followed by the sea trout mi-cuit, which was heavenly and melted in the mouth like butter.
Deserts were equally delicious.
Wines were good and options available to suit all budgets.
All in price (inc. pre dinner drinks and 2 bottles of wine) was 220 PNDS for 4 persons - which I thought was a fair price for the quality of food and service offered.
Talking of service, there are a multitude of waiters and waitresses (from many countries) who are all very attentive, very friendly and very helpful.
I would recommend this to anybody who appreciates good food in a wonderful setting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    35
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This meal was superb. Three of us had the trilogy of scallop, smoked salmon and crab, which was so tasty, one had the courgette salad pretty and tasty. Then one lamb, one rib eye steak, one sea trout and the marmite of fish, which was the best thing she'd ever eaten. Shared two desserts, the hazelnut chocolate praline and a Moreno cherry soufflé. Both outstanding. It was an added bonus to see Judy Murray eating there too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Faultless ! Friendly ! and Fabulous !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were taken here for lunch by some two wonderful friends and have to say that the whole dining experience was delightful.
The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable and the menu choices were interesting and varied and everything the four of chose was delicious.
We cannot wait to go back - Well done to all of you and thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very disappointing!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I eaten here on several previous occasions and have always found the food to be excellent. On this occasion, however, I was bitterly disappointed! I was hoping to order the fillet steak as usual, but was told that I would have needed to order 3 days in advance. The only alternative was the ribeye which was a far inferior cut off meat than I was looking for. We then decided to order the chateau briande which was insufficiently cooked as we ordered it to be medium to well done and it very rare to rare. All in all, a very disappointing experience. I am happy to pay the prices but not for food which is not up to standard.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

By mistake, I posted this review on the hotel site. Here it is reviewed on the Chez Roux page

. Took Mrs M for surprise birthday lunch and she loved it. From the young man greeting us on arrival in the gardens to the nice waitress who took our photo, the whole experience was first class.
On arrival, we were treated to canapés as we had a pre lunch drink and perused the menu. I had the £27 table d'hôte and Mrs M had 2 courses off the a la carte for around the same price. Food superb and staff great. A mixture of Scottish locals and some lovely Eastern European girls.
I casually mentioned it was a birthday and after we'd paid the bill the pastry chef sent over a lovely selection of petit fours and wrote "happy birthday" with white chocolate on a dark slate platter. A lovely touch. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormborn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Roux also viewed

Dunblane, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing