We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Mey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our stay at Mey House was excellent I would say it is a five star plus rating . The house is beautiful and the rooms are very luxurious. Rob and Sally-Ann were lovely people who could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were delicious with very tasty fresh products. This would be the pick of all the B'B s we have stayed in on our trip to Scotland and would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during the Highland leg of your travels and that Orkney was more than you had hoped for. It was fun helping you plan the next leg of your journey on through England - did you make it to the Jorvik centre in York we wonder?? Finally, thank you for your complimentary review about us and our home, very flattering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this gorgeous B & B in the Castle Suite. We only wish we could have stayed longer. It is in a great situation for day trips to Orkney, & visits to the Castle of Mey, John O' Groats & walks the surrounding countryside. Rob & Sally Anne couldn't have been more helpful. Every little thing is thought of for guests' comfort. Their house is beautiful, & we only wish we could have stayed longer. Great breakfasts too.
Don't hesitate to stay here!
Judith & Hal from Australia

Room Tip: The castle suite was wonderful with a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank halo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We hope the rest of your nine week tour of the UK went well and that the weather stayed with you - I would say it is like this every summer but as you originally come from Yorkshire you would know that wasn't true!

Many thanks for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Mey House exceeded our expectations in every way, from the views we enjoyed from our bedroom window to the fresh homemade cookies served with afternoon tea. Sally-Ann and Rob were lovely to visit with, and they made every effort to make sure we were perfectly taken care of, and that included a number of detailed correspondences prior to our visit regarding travel and touring options of Orkney. Breakfast was delicious. This is truly a first-class operation and fully deserving of its five-star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pjchid64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review, every single one we receive is important to us as it helps to develop and grow our business. We are glad you enjoyed our recommendation of driving south via Forsinard and the Flow Country - beautiful isn't it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed at many B and Bs but Mey House is far and away the best. The spacious and beautifully appointed Castle Suite has fabulous views to Orkney, Dunnet Head and The Castle of Mey. The luxurious bathroom is to die for. The breakfasts are delicious and freshly made, enhanced by the fantastic view. Sally-Ann and Rob, you are the perfect hosts and if you decide to offer evening meals in the future we'll be up to see you like a shot. (That's not to say we'll be back soon anyway!) I hesitate to write such a glowing review as it would be lovely to keep Mey House a secret just for a discerning few!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello and thank you for the great review. We have had so many people enquire about having an evening meal with us that we are actively considering the idea, particularly as our dining area has such a great view of the setting sun. We have a few innovative ideas that we shall research over the coming months with the view to introducing something a bit different for next season. Keep your eyes on our website for developments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There is little more we can add to the previous reviews. The bathroom we had was by far the most luxurious we have had in any hotel, the bed was incredibly comfortable with quality bedding and the room was lovely. Breakfasts were all you could want and the views fantastic, Sally-Ann and Robert deserve to succeed. All in all it was " fablous"

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank arisaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first trip to Caithness, perhaps the Orkneys can tempt you back? Thank-you also for the guidance and advice on alternative energy, we are really keen to minimise and ultimately eliminate the carbon footprint of Mey House. Bori Da!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Robert & Sally-Ann, with the offer of a cup of tea and cake, to which of course we said YES after a long journey. The view from the table was of Orkney and the sea! We were then shown to our room which also had a lovely view and after a walk we watched the sunset from the bed. A very comfortable bed and enormous bathroom, with fresh milk and homemade biscuits to have with our tea.So much nicer, thank you.
We had a lovely breakfast with home made bread, the food is sourced locally and is great. We would have loved to stay longer after our night of luxury but we had to move on.
If we have further opportunity we will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Mmm, the cake is a great way to welcome our guests into the house, we are glad you liked it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Every word used to describe perfection would apply to Mey House. We planned a two night stay in the Castle Suite to fulfil a wish I had to visit the Castle of Mey on my birthday and although I loved our day at the castle, Mey House became the highlight of our trip.Sally-Ann and Robert were excellent hosts and we left feeling we were saying goodbye to dear friends.Their attention to detail was beyond expectation and even included delicious "Happy Birthday" cakes in our room on arrival and a card awaiting me at breakfast. Everything was the height of luxury and the food served at breakfast was delicious and all locally sourced. For anyone planning a visit to this area Mey House is a must so that you can experience this 5 star treatment for yourselves.

Room Tip: The view from the Castle Suite is amazing as you look out to Orkney and have a clear view of the Cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Its the little things we do for our guests that make the business of running our B&B so enjoyable but hosting you for your 'special' birthday' was the best fun we have had to far! We are glad to of helped make your day one to remember!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mey
1 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
279 reviews
5.2 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
57 reviews
12 mi away
Camfield House
Camfield House
#2 of 19 in Thurso
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
314 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Marine, Thurso
The Marine, Thurso
#3 of 19 in Thurso
203 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast

Address: Mey House | East Mey, Mey KW14 8XL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Mey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mey
Price Range: £80 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mey House, a Visit Scotland 5 star Gold rated property located on the North Coast 500, is a new luxury B&B in the Highlands of Scotland, 6 miles from John O'Groats. Combining the style of a boutique hotel with the relaxing atmosphere of a family-run B&B, each of our rooms is spacious and thoughtfully furnished, with panoramic views of the Castle of Mey and across the ocean to the Orkney Islands. Both suites have generously proportioned bedrooms with super-king beds, a separate dressing area plus a large private bathroom with a shower and feature bath. Located just off the famous 'North Coast 500' route and close to the ferry terminals at both Gills Bay and John O'Groats (to which we offer courtesy transfers), we are the ideal location for visitors travelling to the Orkney Islands or anyone touring the northern Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing