We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Mey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We Have just come back from staying one night at Mey House. This B&B is first-class and fully deserve its five star rating. When you arrive Sally-Ann welcomes you to her home and serves you with tea and homemade cakes. The views are just out off this world. The Castle Suite was spacious well appointed the bed very comfortable with quality bedding. The bathroom had a roll-top bath and a walk in shower. A perfect place to stay for a day trip to Orkney, Castle of Mey and touring round the countryside. Sally-Ann and Rob you are the perfect hosts and made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Luxury Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rena131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
It was lovely to meet you both during your recent stay and thank you for your kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your break and that Dornoch was just as beautiful as Mey! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of August and it is quite the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Robert and Sally Ann are excellent hosts and they couldn`t do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We enjoyed tea and cake when we arrived and the facilities in our room were akin to a five star hotel. Breakfasts were enjoyed, deliciously cooked and presented, and eaten whilst we admired the view over the Pentland Firth and Castle of Mey. Robert went the extra mile by making gluten free toast for us for our second breakfast. Everything was fresh, everything was clean and we would have no hesitation in recommending Mey House to anyone looking for accommodation on the North coast of Scotland.

Room Tip: Both rooms take in wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ab_roody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
It was a pleasure to host you both and absolutely no bother at all to make you gluten free bread - its all part of the service! I am so jealous of your trip to Stroma, I just hope that I can get a day off soon to visit it myself! Haste ye back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This new venture for a lovely couple totally exceeded our expectations. We broke our journey to Orkney and stayed one night. Wish we had stayed longer, like other reviewers also mention. We were lucky enough to arrive on a bright breezy late afternoon after a long drive from Glasgow. As soon as we stepped out of our car we were in a different world! Sally-Anne welcomed us in and as we walked in to this beautiful modern house an involuntary 'WOW!' escaped my lips. What a view from the window - and you have breakfast there too. Coffee and cake too if you arrive early enough.

We felt comfortable and relaxed straight away. Rob and Sally-Anne genuinely want you to have a great time and are excellent hosts. Rob suggested a walk through the local lanes down to the beach where we saw seals basking in the shallows with their cubs. Then on to the village of Mey where we had some nice pub grub in the local Castle Arms hotel. Rob even offered to pick us up! A spectacular sunset over the sea towards Orkney, viewed from our bedroom completed a special evening. A delicious breakfast looking out over the sea next morning meant we really didn't want to leave but we had a boat to catch. We will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms - Orkney and Mey suites -have beautiful views to the front and a new room will look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylouGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

You really did have a great sunset the evening you stayed with us and we were delighted to share it with you over a glass of your lovely champagne - so generous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels and B&B's in Europe, Canada and the USA and our room at Mey House was probably the most luxurious we have stayed in.
Unfortunately we had only booked one night as we were going to Orkney!
The house is in a superb setting with views of the Castle of Mey and very close to the ferry port.
We were greeted by Sally-Ann who mentioned that we were their first guests to book when their website went live earlier this year and we were delighted to find two special cakes in our room to celebrate being their first booking.
Robert & Sally-Ann are delightful hosts with a superb home and we have no doubt they will be very busy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_T2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
When we received your booking back in January we were overjoyed! You were our first ever booking and we were so relieved to receive it though we shouldn't have worried as we have had an amazing first season.

Thank you so much for being #1 and we hope that we might see you at Mey House again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is one of the top quality B&Bs that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The friendly couple made us feel very welcome and ensured that we were comfortable throughout our stay. The bedroom was spotless and included luxurious furnishings and fittings. Everything from the enormous bed, to the white company towels and Nespresso maker in our room. We enjoyed a delicious full Scottish breakfast overlooking the perfect coastline. I would recommend this B&B and a trip to Mey without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yourguymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure to collect you from the ferry at Scrabster - its all part of the service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed two nights at mey house and only wish time had allowed us to stay longer. Our rooms were absolutely outstanding, large, modern, view of mey castle from bedroom window. Bathroom also very elegant, large soft towels. Robert and Sally-Ann were perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. Cannot praise this bed and breakfast stay at Mey house enough - simply the best

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong with this outstanding BnB. There were 4 in our group and both rooms were beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a awesome tour down the west coast to Fort William. Did you make it to Applecross we wonder?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Mey House was excellent I would say it is a five star plus rating . The house is beautiful and the rooms are very luxurious. Rob and Sally-Ann were lovely people who could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were delicious with very tasty fresh products. This would be the pick of all the B'B s we have stayed in on our trip to Scotland and would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey_House, Owner at Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during the Highland leg of your travels and that Orkney was more than you had hoped for. It was fun helping you plan the next leg of your journey on through England - did you make it to the Jorvik centre in York we wonder?? Finally, thank you for your complimentary review about us and our home, very flattering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mey
1.0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.6 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
11.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.0 mi away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast

Property: Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast
Address: Mey House | East Mey, Mey KW14 8XL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Mey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mey House, a Visit Scotland 5 star Gold rated property located on the North Coast 500, is a new luxury B&B in the Highlands of Scotland, 6 miles from John O'Groats. Combining the style of a boutique hotel with the relaxing atmosphere of a family-run B&B, each of our rooms is spacious and thoughtfully furnished, with panoramic views of the Castle of Mey and across the ocean to the Orkney Islands. Both suites have generously proportioned bedrooms with super-king beds, a separate dressing area plus a large private bathroom with a shower and feature bath. Located just off the famous 'North Coast 500' route and close to the ferry terminals at both Gills Bay and John O'Groats (to which we offer courtesy transfers), we are the ideal location for visitors travelling to the Orkney Islands or anyone touring the northern Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mey House - Luxury Rooms & Breakfast Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing