We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in progress”
Review of Aultbea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aultbea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aultbea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a meal in the aultbea hotel last night and I thought the work that has been getting done to improve the hotel is good. The hotel is looking as a welcoming place to go. I understand the new owner have not been there too long but I can see the improvements now. The meal did have its ups and downs. The setting was nice and comfortable the food needs a little work. The starters we had were lovely, the salmon and the pate were great and I would order again. The steak pie was not great and the chips were frozen ones which I would not recommend. The sirloin we had was not cooked to the requested order and I did tell my husband to return and the kitchen would have made it right, so really not all the chefs fault but it shouldn't have needed to be returned. The haddock was ok but not great. The puddings were great. Service was good and very friendly and helpful which is great to make your visit a good experience. I know I have mentioned a few things that could do with a little change but I would still return and I would recommend other to try. I hope the new owners have all the success they wish for as they are giving it a good go.

Room Tip: Sorry did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 288Lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May, just wanted a peaceful time away and that's what we got.
Room--- Lovely room overlooking the loch, spacious and comfy bed. Tea and coffee making facilities. Flat screen TV, but very difficult to watch as it kept going squidgy. They did offer a replacement but I said not to bother. Bathroom was quite big, his n hers sink complimentary toiletries.shower was good and large bath.
WIFI not great but you are in the middle of nowhere.

We ate in the restaurant the first night, hubby ordered the lamb but it came cold, got it heated up .
I had the Lasagne which was nice.
Next night I ate in the lounge part of the hotel, I ordered the chilli and chips. The chilli was not heated up properly, it had hot and cold spots which you get when heated up in micro and not stirred half way thru. Young guy took plate away and heated up the chilli but when he brought it back my chips were going cold. Couldn't be bothered telling him about the chips lol.

Staff were very pleasant and smart.

Breakfast was the usual choice but when my full Scottish came it came minus the sausage. I asked if the sausages were finished and the waitress did apologise and brought it out to me.

That's what happened to us on our 2 nights stay, would we stay again??????

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandflingDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff we encountered were lovely - pleasant, efficient and professional. The building or at least those parts accessible to non-residents, and the small garden overlooking the foreshore is a bit tired. The bar is comfortable and offers a good selection of the usual drinks. We chose to eat in the restaurant / dining room (other options are an area titled the Bistro and the bar) The room is very nice with a view over Loch Ewe but the food was not up to our expectations. Good local ingredients were on offer - locally smoked salmon etc - but put together and presented in a way that did nothing to enhance the flavour or appearance. I had fishcakes for my main course - which were good, but came with a bowl of no less than 14 new potatoes on the same plate and a small, undressed salad topped with a piece of orange. It just did not work. The fishcakes were really good and with different finishing touches or side orders could have been quite special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Smileasever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fla988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aultbea
10.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
173 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
353 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
5.1 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
218 reviews
13.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aultbea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aultbea Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Aultbea IV22 2HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Aultbea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aultbea
Price Range: £101 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aultbea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aultbea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aultbea Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing