We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure on the Western Scottish Coast”
Review of Aultbea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aultbea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aultbea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a gem of a hotel, stunning location, brilliant rooms ( even more so when facing the loch), wonderful bathrooms and food to die for in the restaurant.
The new owners have made wonderful changes, cannot wait to see what they will do to complete the transformation.
I have travelled to many places and value for money Aultbea Hotel represents tremendous value

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were staying at a local B&B but decided to sample the menu. The new owners have been working hard on refurbishment but amongst all of that have maintained an excellent level of service. The food was great, with a good choice on the menu, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Just what we needed after a long day of travelling and it reflects very well on this wonderful area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We decided to book a room with a sea view although it was more expensive. We had Room 10 and we're not disappointed. It was hard to stop looking out one of the 3 windows especially as it was mid June and hardly got dark but the jacuzzi bath had to be experienced. We had dinner in the conservatory which looked much more attractive than dining room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the warm welcome, to the check out, what was outstanding in the Aultbea Hotel, is the attention to detail. The owners have made a great start and we wish them all success - we will not hesitate to go back.
The room has a stunning view across Loch Awe; is very comfortable - an excellent firm bed helped provide good nights' sleep. The room was light and airy and well equipped.
Service in the restaurant was excellent; as was the menu. Food was beautifully presented and delicious - we thought that 2 course for £20 represented great value. Breakfast was equally good.
Staff at the hotel were very pleasant and attentive.
If we were looking to find fault wiith our stay we could not: this is a lovely small hotel where service is a priority - and it is really refreshing to experience that.
The Aultbea Hotel represents outstanding value. Go there and try for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we enjoyed our 4 nights in this hotel , the new owners have had very little time to get into the swing of things but we found the staff very friendly and welcoming , smallish and basic room but did what we needed , food good , no complaints at all , lovely conservatory area in which to eat and watch the bird life of the bay , it is in a good location for the region, we went north to Ullapool and south to Skye, very easy day trips, we would recommend it !!

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the bay , we did not get one, but not everyone can get the best rooms !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our room had a stunning view across the bay to the small fishing harbour, comfortable bed and adequate shower. Wifi in the bedroom was so weak as to be unworkable and even in the small and comfortable lounge it was very slow but that seems to be the norm over much of the west coast. If you are interested in history, look out for a fascinating local publication, which was in the lounge, recording first hand accounts of the experiences of local people during WW2, including the arctic convoys.
Overall the hotel has a good feel about it with friendly staff. Don’t expect sophistication and you should be well pleased.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the bay have a great outloook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeNoudeGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having frequented the restauant for many years we were apprehensive about eating there on holiday this year. We need not have worried. We ate there 4 times and were very impressed by the food and by the much improved ambience. The new owners have worked so hard in their short time there and already improvements can be seen. They are most attentive to the needs of their guests. They have not made the mistake of changing everthing wholesale but are instead impoving the hotel gradually. We were glad the menu is almost the same but I believe mosr local produce will be introduced. The bistro has already been transformed by Robin himself.
It is a pity that there have been a couple of total;ly negative reviews as we feel that the hotel has been poorly portrayed by nit pickers!
cayy on the good work
Carry on the good work but keep the good bits as they are . We look forward to our next meal there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aultbea
10.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
631 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
5.1 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aultbea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aultbea Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Aultbea IV22 2HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Aultbea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aultbea
Price Range: £97 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aultbea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aultbea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aultbea Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing