We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend away”
Review of Caorunn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caorunn House
Ranked #10 of 10 Morar B&B and Inns
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend away”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Wow, what a welcome and a really clean wonderful home from home. Lorraine and George made our stay with her caring nature and we had lovely stay and breakfast. We are regulars to this area, this
is the second bed and breakfast we have stayed in. The shower was fantastic. Really close to
one of the best beaches in Scotland. Thanks for everything, would recommend. xx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The most welcoming B&B I have stayed in. I arrived on the train at Morar station at 11.30pm. George the owner had asked me to just give him a call when I arrived, and sure enough he was there to welcome me and my rucksack at Morar station after my 13 hr train journey! Their house is beautiful, and my room for 3 nights was warm and very comfortable. Breakfast was a feast of Scottish fare that sets you up for a day exploring the silver sands or the hills that surround the area. I really felt part of the family during my stay, and was sad to be leaving so soon. Have already booked again for a return in May.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We were a group of three couples. Although we could only spend one night, we were very pleased with our accommodations. Mr. and Mrs. Pendreigh were so very pleasant to visit with and the breakfast was great..!! We left very early on the ferry to Skye and this B&B was a short drive away. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Both hosts absent when checking in. Accommodation and property good but banging noise in evening and night from possibly boiler disturbed sleep. Frosty host and awful breakfast - conversation consisted of one word answers - massive disappointment. Partner got cooked breakfast but ate alone and it would have fitted on a side plate. Mine lingered in oven for 25 minutes while host stood around in silence. When finished plates needed collecting, host asked where my plate was and I reminded him it was still in the oven, with the contents duly cremated. However, still served up inc solid fried egg. Host disappeared during check out process - no contact at all. Left money on visitors book. We are a professional couple but motorcycles do not cut it at the Caorunn guest house. A shambles - Fawlty Towers better than this

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honest p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of July 2012 for two nights. Lorraine and George were great hosts and made us feel very welcome in their home. The accommodation was of a very high standard, comfortable, clean and fresh. We had our 20 month old son with us and they were more than happy to help when we needed bottles heated or cleaned etc. They also had a high chair (spotless) available for breakfast time and Bert the dog for amusement! We would happily stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a worry free trip to this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in Caorunn House on the 26th June 2012, a Spaniard, an American and Scottish woman; we weren't expecting perfect summer weather, with the famous beaches just down the road, rosy white against the blue sky.
The family were thoroughly nice, and the house was comfy, the shower magnificently hot and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murray919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed in the B&B in April accomodation was absolutley spotless and very comfortable the owners made us feel very much like it was a home from home , the surrounding area is ideal for hill walks and the beach is probably the best we have seen in our journeys throughout scotland , visted a few resturants in malliag and they were top notch and very good value for money and may i add George the owner cooks a very good breakfast will have no hesatation about returning was very good value for money and the most relaxing surroundings we have had in a while, we will be back ***** Mr & Mrs G Cumming

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahame c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morar
1.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
582 reviews
0.0 mi away
GlenanCross GuestHouse
4.5 mi away
Arisaig House
Arisaig House
#1 of 5 in Arisaig
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caorunn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caorunn House

Property: Caorunn House
Address: glenancross | mallaig, Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Morar
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated just off the coastal road between Arisaig and Morar, only 10 minutes walk from the famous Camusdarach beach, featured in the film 'Local Hero' and 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction to the 'Silver Sands of Morar'. Family run Bed and Breakfast in a newly built house with accommodation consisting of 2 double rooms and 1 family room. All rooms are en-suite with remote controlled satellite TV, tea & coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi internet access. Prices from: £30 per person per night including full Scottish or Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caorunn House Morar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing