We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the scenic Coast route”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenwood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 10 Morar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Advice- take the scenic coast road and then follow Claire's driving instructions. It was well worth it to arrive at this new establishment. The rooms are clean and fresh and Claire, being from the area, was able to help with local knowledge .The fresh fruits at breakfast werea real treat. We felt perfectly secure even though the rooms lacked individual locks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were abit surprise when the GPS guided us into an unpaved road, and for a while we thought we were lost in the woods! But glad we persevered and came to a beautiful house that the hosts built themselves.

Claire was a terrific host - we got to pick when and what we want to eat. She cooked them fresh, not the re-heating stuff! The room was clean and spacious. Tourist information was nicely compiled and provided in a neat folder for our easy reference.

We enjoyed their hospitality very much!

The only little thing is that in the booking website it says the establishment accepts credit card payment which is not correct. This is certainly not their fault but just thought I mention here so that you can be aware.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevisSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A bad experience turned into a real pleasant surprise. Our GPS directed us to the ferry to Skye and not the bridge as we had planned ( any travellers should be made aware of this) We were directed to this B&B by the waitress in the local restaurant as it was already late and the additional 4 1/2 hour drive was out of the question.
Clean, comfortable and inexpensive. We found out from the owner that the beach in Morar was where a part of the film Local Hero" was filmed. Our e-mail address was based on that film so it had significant meaning to us.
I would thoroughly recommend this establishment. You will be pleased and surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlocalheroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for (alas) one night only for a family wedding (just over the hill) , Claire and Simon have self-built a beautiful home that is absolutely stunning, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, not only do you get a choice of breakfast but you are asked what time you would like to have it.............where else do you get that???!! Many thanks, see you soon. XX

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed here from 5th - 7th of April 2013 to attend my cousin's wedding. Claire and her family could not have been nicer. The accomodation was spotless and the cooking catered well for my taste. I don't eat pork so had porridge, beans on toast and scrambled eggs etc. The location was beautiful and great base for seeing more of the area by car, or for having a stroll along the beach. I would not hesitate to book here again. Thoroughly enjoyed my perfect stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynl404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackbow, Owner at Glenwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

A lovely guesthouse with views of rolling hills. The only downside is that the walls between rooms are quite thin so if you have noisy neighbours (who talk loudly and channel surf late into the evening as we did) it can be a little difficult to fall asleep in the evening.

Other than that, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danae1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Glenwood for one night after attending a wedding in nearby Arisaig. Claire was very helpful with directions, and although she was out when we arrived her teenage son was friendly and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed.

We stayed in the family room as we have a 4 yr old and a 5 month old baby. It was perfect for us - lovely big comfy double bed, good sized bunk beds and Claire had supplied a travel cot and bedding for it. The room was ensuite, with a great shower. I'd say the room was hotel standard, it really didn't feel like a B&B.

We had a hearty cooked breakfast the next morning, with a good child sized portion for our daughter. The whole property is of a very high standard and tastefully decorated throughout. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, I just wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area a bit more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Glenwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Bed & Breakfast

Address: Glenwood Glenwood Coastal Road | Morar / Arisaig, Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Morar
Price Range: £22 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenwood is a newly built, family run establishment set in approx 4 acres of land. We are situated on the beautiful coastal road between Morar and Arisaig. We are approx 10 minutes walk from the stunning Camusdarach beach where you can view some of the most stunning sunsets in the world. The lovely fishing port of Mallaig is about 10 minutes drive away. why not take advantage of our barbecue area to sit and watch the stunning sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Bed & Breakfast Morar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing