We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts in nice location”
Review of Princes Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trefriw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Princes Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hosts in nice location”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Traditional hotel set in lovely spot, ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area.
Beautifully cooked breakfasts, and great restaurants meals, you wouldn't want to eat elsewhere.
Great value for money, with wonderful hosts Lindsay and Ann.
Big rooms, with lovely comfy bed, peace and quiet guarantees a good nights sleep.
We will be back again.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms face the front and have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
42
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been coming to the Princes Arms with my family for over 17 years now and now I've been with my wife. Lindsay and Ann (the owners) make such a fantastic team. Lindsay is the perfect host and will always make you feel welcome. He is so funny and attentive. His wife, Ann, works in the kitchen and consistently produces the most amazing meals. The scenery and location is perfection and there is ample to explore nearby, including the wonderful Lake Crafnant. The apartments do need some TLC but this is the only slight negative. The usual rooms are lovely. I thoroughly recommend the Princes Arms as a beautiful refuge from the busyness of modern day life. Check it out! And you won't ever want to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A truly lovely comfortable, peaceful hotel with beautiful views.Excellent,friendly service. Superb food and very spacious rooms. Only £10 a night B&B than the nearest Premier Inn. No contest really. We will return there any time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

On arrival we were struck by the beautiful location. The photo on the website is truly representative of the lovely scenery surrounding this traditional hotel. We were met with warm hospitality, excellent service, a spacious comfortable room, and the food was fabulous. Excellent value in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This B&B is on a pretty road with a nice view from the rooms of the river. The hotel décor could do with sprucing up a little. Our room had no double glazing and the heating seems to come on randomly which may be a problem in winter but the furniture, free WiFi and the large LCD TV in the room are very good features and the room was also a decent size with very comfortable mattress and pillows. Ensuite bathroom was very clean but is very dated; shower wasn’t great with very little pressure but otherwise does the job. Breakfast was good and ticked all the boxes; their veggie sausages are the best I’ve tasted! Dinner was very very good at a very reasonable price. Staff were also helpful and friendly. Location wise it’s fairly easy to get to most of the local sites by car although we did spot very pretty villages nearby which would be our preferred option if returning to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_bil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Over twenty years ago and when my two sons were youngsters we to stayed many times in the top floor flats here, Lindsay and Ann had not long taken over the hotel and were beginning a programme of modernisation. I return every year with friends and family on my annual visits to North Wales and it's wonderful to see them both as enthusiastic and welcoming as ever.
Recently we ate twice in the restaurant, delicious well cooked and sourced local food and just the thing after a day's walking in the mountains and all that wholesome fresh air.
The Princes Arms is situated in the village of Trefriw, close by to Llanwrst and Betws y Coed with lovely views over the River Conwy and to the distant hills.
Plenty to do and Lindsay will arrange golf for residents at some of the finest courses and is a mine of useful information. Take a drive up the hill behind the hotel to Lake Crafnant where there is a delightful café and one can sit on the lake shore enjoying home made cakes and wonder at the view and tranquillity.
The Princes Arms is a fine example of a well run, excellent value and friendly hotel and if you haven't already been there then I suggest you do!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely Sunday lunch here
We really enjoyed it food was really good
It also really reasonable I would recommend here to all my friends
Service was good such friendly staff
Plenty to choose from off the menu
Definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefriw
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Arms Hotel

Property: Princes Arms Hotel
Address: Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0JP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trefriw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This haven of natural beauty is renowned for its exceptional setting and its quality of cuisine.It forms an excellent base from which to explore the stunning Snowdonia countryside.[Situated near Betws Y Coed].With the gently meandering river Conwy to the fore and the lakes of Snowdonia behind, there are few settings lovelier than the Princes Arms Hotel in the picturesque village of Trefriw.Wake up to sunrise over the Conwy valley or sleep on in the quiet comfort of your room, but bear in mind our breakfasts are exceptional!Simply step out of the door onto riverside walks and forestry tracks leading to views that will take your breath away.Alternatively, take a short drive and you are at the foot of Snowdon, shopping in Betws-y-coed or marveling at the stunning Bodnant Gardens.The Conwy valley and surrounding countryside is a region of great beauty and history. Whether it is sightseeing, walking, fishing or golfing, the list of attractions within striking distance are endless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princes Arms Hotel Trefriw, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing