We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Fails to impress !”
Review of Princes Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trefriw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Princes Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never Fails to impress !”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Had a celebration party for family and friends. Once again excellent food and service from Lindsay and Ann. You are always made welcome here. The food was a very high quality buffet with everyone impressed by quality and taste. There were hefty eaters present, but there was more than enough for all. An excellent evening. Diolch yn fawr.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
42
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just arrived home after a lovely meal at the princess arms.. perfect setting.. wonderful host.. good food at a reasonable price. The restaurant is beautifully decorated. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Traditional hotel set in lovely spot, ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area.
Beautifully cooked breakfasts, and great restaurants meals, you wouldn't want to eat elsewhere.
Great value for money, with wonderful hosts Lindsay and Ann.
Big rooms, with lovely comfy bed, peace and quiet guarantees a good nights sleep.
We will be back again.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms face the front and have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been coming to the Princes Arms with my family for over 17 years now and now I've been with my wife. Lindsay and Ann (the owners) make such a fantastic team. Lindsay is the perfect host and will always make you feel welcome. He is so funny and attentive. His wife, Ann, works in the kitchen and consistently produces the most amazing meals. The scenery and location is perfection and there is ample to explore nearby, including the wonderful Lake Crafnant. The apartments do need some TLC but this is the only slight negative. The usual rooms are lovely. I thoroughly recommend the Princes Arms as a beautiful refuge from the busyness of modern day life. Check it out! And you won't ever want to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A truly lovely comfortable, peaceful hotel with beautiful views.Excellent,friendly service. Superb food and very spacious rooms. Only £10 a night B&B than the nearest Premier Inn. No contest really. We will return there any time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

On arrival we were struck by the beautiful location. The photo on the website is truly representative of the lovely scenery surrounding this traditional hotel. We were met with warm hospitality, excellent service, a spacious comfortable room, and the food was fabulous. Excellent value in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This B&B is on a pretty road with a nice view from the rooms of the river. The hotel décor could do with sprucing up a little. Our room had no double glazing and the heating seems to come on randomly which may be a problem in winter but the furniture, free WiFi and the large LCD TV in the room are very good features and the room was also a decent size with very comfortable mattress and pillows. Ensuite bathroom was very clean but is very dated; shower wasn’t great with very little pressure but otherwise does the job. Breakfast was good and ticked all the boxes; their veggie sausages are the best I’ve tasted! Dinner was very very good at a very reasonable price. Staff were also helpful and friendly. Location wise it’s fairly easy to get to most of the local sites by car although we did spot very pretty villages nearby which would be our preferred option if returning to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_bil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefriw
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Arms Hotel

Property: Princes Arms Hotel
Address: Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0JP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trefriw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This haven of natural beauty is renowned for its exceptional setting and its quality of cuisine.It forms an excellent base from which to explore the stunning Snowdonia countryside.[Situated near Betws Y Coed].With the gently meandering river Conwy to the fore and the lakes of Snowdonia behind, there are few settings lovelier than the Princes Arms Hotel in the picturesque village of Trefriw.Wake up to sunrise over the Conwy valley or sleep on in the quiet comfort of your room, but bear in mind our breakfasts are exceptional!Simply step out of the door onto riverside walks and forestry tracks leading to views that will take your breath away.Alternatively, take a short drive and you are at the foot of Snowdon, shopping in Betws-y-coed or marveling at the stunning Bodnant Gardens.The Conwy valley and surrounding countryside is a region of great beauty and history. Whether it is sightseeing, walking, fishing or golfing, the list of attractions within striking distance are endless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princes Arms Hotel Trefriw, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing