We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly enjoyable stay”
Review of Princes Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trefriw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Princes Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Certificate of Excellence
Northchurch
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a very enjoyable relaxing stay at the Princes Arms. Lindsay is a great host and in a large hotel it is good to have such personal service, and both the breakfasts and evening meal were lovely. The hotel in the days when steam boats came up the river Colwyn was called Belle Vue and if you stay here you will fully understand why!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
43
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

PROS:
- Work desk facing window overlooking a great countryside view;
- Windows that can be open widely, allowing fresh air and nature sounds to enter;
- Space;
- Large bed with bedside tables;
- Low rental price;
CONS:
- No air conditioning, although that was not a problem, thanks to natural ventilation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel provide a great view of a valley with a small river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed here many times over the past few years and as ever we really enjoyed our latest visit to the hotel. The welcome from the hosts, Lindsay & Ann, is always warm and friendly, the hotel comfortable and the food excellent. The location of the hotel is great with lovely views over the river and surrounding countryside, with several nice walks nearby. It's also a good base for visiting other towns such as Conway, Llandudno & Betsw y coed. We hope to be back in the not too distant future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Re-visited last week after several years for Sunday lunch ...and most impressed! Excellent value for money, service just right and an imaginative menu, unrushed and in wonderful surroundings. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A wonderful welcoming establisment in beautiful Conwy county . we did not stay at the hotel but we did sample the fantastic food in the restaurant..Lindsay was a fantastic host and could not do enough for you .the starters were a ham hock terrine with an apple chutney ..just fabulous!..my wife had the steak and ale pie for main and i had the vegitable curry ..the portions are HUGE! and you will not leave hungry ..fantastic quality great service ..the next time we are in the area we will be coming for a short break at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninedarter180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Quiet, clean and very welcoming. Super food in the evenings and great breakfasts in a lovely room. Lindsey strikes just the right balance of being welcoming without being intrusive. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Sometimes 'character' can mean a bit scruffy, but this is not the case at the Prince's Arms. We've been back several times and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWCW905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have just spent the weekend at The Princes Arms,as part of a party of 15.Hotel photographs do not do this justice.Spacious airy bedroom overlooking the river fabulous food in the Brasserie catering for all tastes.Relaxing large lounge with beautiful comfortable antique chairs.Breakfast
was superb with a choice of fruit,cereals,full english,vegetarian or fish. Lindsay the owner was
a lovely man and made you feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend this hotel if you are visitng the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefriw
0.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Arms Hotel

Property: Princes Arms Hotel
Address: Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0JP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trefriw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This haven of natural beauty is renowned for its exceptional setting and its quality of cuisine.It forms an excellent base from which to explore the stunning Snowdonia countryside.[Situated near Betws Y Coed].With the gently meandering river Conwy to the fore and the lakes of Snowdonia behind, there are few settings lovelier than the Princes Arms Hotel in the picturesque village of Trefriw.Wake up to sunrise over the Conwy valley or sleep on in the quiet comfort of your room, but bear in mind our breakfasts are exceptional!Simply step out of the door onto riverside walks and forestry tracks leading to views that will take your breath away.Alternatively, take a short drive and you are at the foot of Snowdon, shopping in Betws-y-coed or marveling at the stunning Bodnant Gardens.The Conwy valley and surrounding countryside is a region of great beauty and history. Whether it is sightseeing, walking, fishing or golfing, the list of attractions within striking distance are endless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princes Arms Hotel Trefriw, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing