We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yr Hafod Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Trefriw B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire dales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect. The outside doesn't look the prettiest from the photo but the reviews were good so I booked. The hotel was really good, it's been totally renovated to a high standard, everything was quality. It has a pleasant garden with little nooks. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The food was very good. The first night we decided to go to pub that was a mistake, it was awful. The next night Shaun organised our meal which really good. Midweek it's a reduced menu but Shaun tweeked it for us. Trefriw village is a bit tired but was a very interesting place for me. The mill, the mill shop, the mill hydro scheme, the waterfalls and the narrow walkways scattered about the mill complex. It is huge. We walked around the nearby reservoir/lake and stopped at the cafe on the shore. Brilliant easy walk and lovely home made food.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank raikesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Recently visited over a weekend in May. The proprietors are both very welcoming and in respect of the accommodation this feela like home from home. The views are fantastic from the rooms. The weekend grill is an intimate experience, the food is second to none and there is a very homely touch placed on the hosting which is met by exquisite food. If visiting North Wales this must not be overlooked. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in mid week and were treated to a personal service that few places can match. Sean looked after us very well and the meals he produced were not only different from the run of the mill fare but extremely tasty - a delight to come back to after a busy day out. The room was great and the shower worked as it should [not always the case elsewhere]. Regrettably the weather was a little too wet to enjoy the terrace but we could see the potential. We met Leila and the children too which gave Yr Hafod a real homely feel; however, it is intrinsically a restaurant with rooms, and one that certainly deserves to flourish. Go there - but just take care over the local bridges and of the entrance drive when you arrive!

Room Tip: They all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golconda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a lovely find this country house was, it's set in the quiet village of Trefriw away from the maddening crowds if there is any in Snowdonia. We had room 2 a very large room with its own terrace, with a private entrance into our room just perfect, as we could come and go as we please.
Breakfast was a typical Welsh breakfast a great to start the day. The owner was a local and his knowledge, certainly helped us plan our three days there. We eat in the restaurant on the Friday night and I can only say that the service and the food was excellent.
All the ingredients are from local butchers and greengrocer, I said to Shaun that I would very much like a special steak on the Friday night and it was no trouble for him to go out and get from the butcher. We will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a own private terrace which allows you to come in and out of your room at any tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

thank you both for a great couple of days in room 2.A great place to stay and unwind.agree with Martin S the creme brulee cheesecake is gorgeous .We would definitely return and recommend to others //.food great ,rooms very clean and comfortable it was a delight to meet Shaun and Leila x

Room Tip: Each room as a different appeal and all with good standards throughout .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkkk1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A real home from home with a warm welcome and a restaurant with 5 star cuisine. Shaun and Leila made us very comfortable with an immaculate and well appointed room. Ideal for a break in the superb Welsh countryside, easy access to all the attractions. We will certainly recommend this lovely hotel to our friends and hope to return later this year for another very enjoyable holiday. Well done guys, see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and for two of these also had dinner. Shaun and Leila have a great place which is ideally situated for north Wales destinations. Shaun does all the cooking and produces a great breakfast and superb dishes for dinner. The cheesecake crème brulee should be on your must-eat list if you stay for dinner. The waiting staff are very good and the whole experience top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefriw
1.1 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
14.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
1.3 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hafod Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hafod Country House

Property: Yr Hafod Country House
Address: Hafod Nr Betws-y-Coed, Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0RQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trefriw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trefriw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Yr Hafod Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully referbished by new owners, we are a small country house bed and breakfast, offering guests overnight accommodation with comfort and quality in mind. All rooms are en-suite and have its own private entrance, giving you the guest freedom to come and go as you please. The informal, warm and intimate dining experience at Yr Hafod is exclusive for our residents and one not to be missed Everything is Home made and Always served with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yr Hafod Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafod Country Llanrwst
Hafod Country Hotel Llanrwst
Yr Hafod Country House Trefriw, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing