We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service - No Atmosphere in the restaurant”
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Colwyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Not very friendly and not all that helpful staff (all the staff seemed very young and a lack of training or they simply did not really care)- no atmosphere in the dinning room apart from the odd record which we assume was played from the bar duke box every now and then.

Starters we has prawn cocktail served eighties style in a very small wine glass just some shredded ice burg lettuce and some small prawns topped with a cheap/nasty sauce and some cheap sliced brown bread - was just edible but would never have again or recommend. -

We was then expecting a similar main meal but to our surprise it was it was a very tasty Beef Sunday Dinner, very tasty very well cooked good quality beef with home made beef stock gravy, very nice roast potatoes - tasty and crispy again seemed home made/prepared and good boiled potatoes along with a side dish of veg carrots/peas/broccoli and cauliflower all good.

Was a Yorkshire pudding but very over done/burnt - this was the only one small fault with the dinner as everything else on the main Dinner was excellent. - sweets were average pub quality- nothing special.
We would try this place again but stick to just a Sunday dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAMSEY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

We had been due to stay at another hotel in the area but, unfortunately, due to a fire, they were unable to accomodate us.
Accordingly we looked for other accomodation and approached the Marine during the afternoon. Wendy and her husband could not have been more helpful.
For a clean, comfortable room and overall pleasant accomodation, together with a big plus for the breakfast, we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellie499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed for a long weekend,we was made to feel very welcome,the food was excellent and the rooms were large,clean and modern.All in all The Marine is a great place to stay,we are intending to stay there again in 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPerkins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Fabulous stay Wendy and all the staff were wonderful!! Really accommodating especially as we travelled with a one year old!! Food was amazing (steak to die for)! Felt at home the staff couldn't do enough for us!! Welsh netball would recommend it to anyone!!! Great people great value!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs2086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Wendy, thank you for a fabulous New Years Eve - as always, your attention to detail ensures a great night and wonderful atmosphere.

We have stayed in the Marine on many occasions and it never disappoints. The accommodation, recently updated, is clean and comfortable and in the morning we get a full English breakfast that keeps us going all day. Whether eating in the restaurant or the new bar areas, the food is consistently good (and Sunday lunch is the best in North Wales!).

Great location for walking or the beach.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

recently attended this hotel at a reception after a wedding. At first everything appeared quaint and very cosy, very clean and nicely decorated. When the buffet was laid I was extremely shocked to find hardly any meat and not one single desert. After speaking to the groom I was disgusted to hear that this so called 'buffet' was a shocking £8.00 a head. I personally wouldn't have placed a value on the cold dorito crisps and deep fried cocktail sausages. On a lighter note, drinks were well priced and despite the function room being dangerously small to cater for our party of 60 everyone still had a smile on their face.
As staff cleaned the tables I have never felt so unconfortable due to the attitude and sevice given. My review concludes that I have never been treated the way that some of the members of staff who were anything but helpful treated the guests. I would even go as far to say that it appeared that I should have gotten up and helped them clear away as they were obviously disgruntled doing so and in my opinion should not be in the work of serving others. I would not advise any person considering visiting their establishment as I certainly wont be doing so in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank totallyoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayeayecaptain, Owner at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

This person attended an afternoon wedding reception for which we were asked by the Groom to provide a finger buffet for 50 people for the sum of £350. This was served and everyone was quite happy.There was also to be an evening disco for which no food was ordered as it was beyond their budget. At approx. 7.30pm a member of the party brought in a large quantity of takeaway chinese food and chips and started laying it out on our buffet tables. We remonstrated with them, as this was entirely unacceptable. We had not charged for the hire of the room, nor were we asked if they could self cater, which we do not allow. At 10.30pm more food was brought in and at this stage we stopped the party and called the police. The police advised us to allow the party to continue, partly due to the fact that a number of the guests were booked in as hotel residents. Our function room is licenced for 100 people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I recently stayed overnight at the Marine Hotel and I thought I should add a few comments on my experience. First impressions as you pull up are that from the outside it looks a little tired. Dont be fooled. The Marine Hotel is a work in progress. The inside has been decorated to a high and comfortable standard. The rooms are spacious and modern, the dining room offers a varied selection of good food and the bar area is just the kind of place to sit down and relax. We had a very satisfying cooked breakfast in the morning that left us full for most of the day and the landlady (who had been working til late the night before) was warm and friendly). Colwyn Bay town and promenade is a refreshingly short walk from the Marine Hotel. All in all if you are looking for a decent inexpensive place to stay whilst in this area I would recommend looking no further than the Marine Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wilson1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Colwyn
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Old Colwyn
58 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
156 reviews
9.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 236 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9YH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Old Colwyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Old Colwyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing