We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Property for a Pile of People!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Old Colwyn, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicky H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Property for a Pile of People!!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned home from a long weekend at the Ship Inn. 25 of us stayed as part of a yearly get together. The Ship provided everything we could have asked for a stress free and enjoyable trip away. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need. The pool table was in constant use as was the table tennis table in the out building. The sitting areas were spacious and comfortable for a large group of people and we are planning to return next year. Thank you to the team at the The Ship Inn.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
1 review
“lovely and spacious, ideal for our large family group”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

24 of us stayed for a week. The boys aged 3-10 enjoyed sleeping in the dormitory and the adults drew names out of a hat for the lovely room with four poster and ensuite! My husband and i were blessed with it . There is also another large room on the top floor, while the rest are ordinary double rooms, perfectly adequate for sleeping! The kitchen diner works well, with room for our size of group to all sit round the tables. The main sitting area is spacious too, although lacking windows and this is where the projector is for the large screen. The outside area has the potential to be a lovely space with a bit more work. As it is, there are picnic tables and barbecues and we enjoyed being outside together for a couple of meals. There is lots to do close by, and it's great being able to walk to the beach and other pleasant walks. Snowdon is within easy reach too, which makes a change from the seaside.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeyagou...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for large groupls”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Celebrated my 50th birthday at this Ship Inn with 30 members of my family ranging from age 4 to age 60. The house is perfect for such an occassion with plenty of space for all. The pool table and table tennis were a hit with everyone and the bunk room was ideal for the children/teenagers in the party. The house was clean and the facilities were spot on. I am sure we will be returning for future family celebrations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
needhai
1 review
“Ideal house in great location for big family gatherings!”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Where to start? 27 of us from 7 months to 70 and we were all blown away! Kids loved the big dorm (some sleeping was done), we all loved the sky tv and the projector, and the beds were fantastic. Even with this many occupants the house still felt big with loads of space for everyone. Two dishwashers is a genius idea. We had some rain which kept us inside for a while but with the pool table and all the other distractions nobody was short of something to do. We planned a wild west murder mystery for one night and that was great - all the charity shops for miles knew us by name! This is a perfect venue for big families, class touches that make the stay special, but nothing precious that you're afraid to relax and live there. No hesitation in coming back whatsoever, if the Sheriff hasn't caught us by then!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandid123
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is shamazing for a group Party, we had the best time”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the ship for a week 12th Dec for my husbands surprise 40th birthday! I still can't believe we managed to keep it a secret for a year and actually pulled it off to perfection it couldn't have gone any better. My family arrived before us and accessed the ship by code, they were able to decorate the downstairs with photos, banners and balloons which we had arranged to be delivered by Sandra at Clown Around just up the road which is good to know if you want somebody local to deliver balloons and reasonable to. All we needed then was the guest of honour who thought was going away with just me for a quiet romantic weekend in a remote cottage (something we have done before so easy to trick him). I delayed our travel by telling him the cottage had had a power cut and the owner had asked if we could come later and call in the pub he runs to collect the keys. He totally fell for this hook line and sinker and at 7pm we arrived at The Ship! I stopped at the services ten minutes before to make a call to family to get ready as we were nearly there. Outside The Ship he reluctantly wanted to stay in the car and wanted me to run in for the non-existent keys. I had a wobble at this point as I had to get him inside but he didn't want to leave the dog in the car. After a mini disagreement with my defence as I don't like walking in pubs alone he reluctantly got out to come with me. Heart was in my mouth at this point as I encouraged him to push the front door which leads to the main lounge area. Party poppers went off and cheers went up (they had the ligthts off) as he pushed the door open! His first reaction wasn't good as he thought we had walked in on a private event and ruined somebody else's surprise, then the lights went up and he focussed in on the family faces and realised we had got him good and proper, it was brilliant and so glad I did it. He had the most amazing time partying, relaxing watching footy on the humongous projector screen and spending time as a large family. Cannot fault the ship, yes it had a few leaky radiators in a few bathrooms but nothing is perfect and nothing ruined our stay. I was surprised at some of the petty complaints in the guest book as it's over 100 year old probably listed building which has been tastefully upgraded. All the bathrooms were modern and clean, everybody commented how comfortable the beds were, being zip locked beds we expected them not to be but couldn't fault them. The kids loved exploring and we had the most funny murder mystery game on the Saturday which my brother arranged. It is the ideal place to play a murder mystery game as there are so many rooms. The log burner kicks out powerful heat and wall radiators keep you nice and toasty so don't worry about being cold and the lovely down duvets were a hit with many guests vowing to go home and switch to them. The kitchen communal area is just fantastic, very adequately equipped and just a lovely space to be together. We did our own buffet on the Saturday night, both Tesco's and Icelands deliver here which made life easy as I ordered the week before. I could go on and on about the Ship as we had the best time, most of the guests left on the Sunday with a few staying on the rest of the week with us which was nice and chilled. The only negative I have which would improve the Ship is some outdoor lighting at the back door for the smokers and also if you have a dog so you can see where they are doing their business. Mark was great to deal with, and promptly replied if we had any problems, we had slight issue getting the projector to come on it seems to be connected to the light switches but we figured it out. To sum up the Ship Inn is the ultimate venue to be together as a group and we were all ages and everybody had a great time. Thanks Mark for providing a great place to party at a reasonable cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size
Liked least: No outdoor lighting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thanks for leaving such a great review. It certainly seems like all the planning was worth it, it sounds as if you had an amazing time and made the most of this lovely property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet H
1 review
“Excellent for a family get together.”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was one of the very few places that we found that could accommodate the number of people we wanted to get together. We had people ranging in age from 1 to 88, with people coming and going during the week. It was excellent for our group. The facilities were spot on, clean comfortable bedrooms, plenty of storage in the kitchen and lots of space for feeding large numbers of people. The large lounge and games were brilliant for the younger ones in the party, while the smaller lounge upstairs provided a quieter area for others. Best of all was the price. When shared out it was extremely good value. The only down side: the distance we had to travel to it! I would thoroughly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large eating area where everyone could gather in the evenings.
Liked least: The local take aways, dreadful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house for large groups in a good location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Property is ideal for big groups as a party house or for family groups. We are a group of 15 adults and 11 children (ranging from 3 weeks to 7 years!) The property was fantastic as it has lots of room for children to roam and adults to sit and chat. The kitchen was a lovely space and the upstairs lounge was very cosy. The downstairs living space was huge and a bit industrial. The kids loved the games area and the projector for films.
All the bathrooms appeared new and very clean. The bedrooms on the 1st and 2nd floor were all lovely, the downstairs rooms were slightly less welcoming (2 by the front door and one off the games area) but were very functional.
Mark was really easy to communicate with and phoned to make sure that we were happy when we arrived. Any issues that we had he quickly resolved. The kitchen was missing a few bits (corkscrew being the main issue!) Mark said to get what was needed and settled up with us at the end of the holiday. The tumble dryer didn't work, which with a newborn was a bit of an issue, but once Mark was aware he arranged with the local laundrette to dry it for us at no cost to us. We couldn't have asked for more. It was a great holiday (my son says you will love it!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location
Liked least: Downstairs bedrooms but a minor thing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing