We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best honey buns in the world - and I've tried a few”
Review of Cadwgan Bakery

Cadwgan Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Old Colwyn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best honey buns in the world - and I've tried a few”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was brought up in Colwyn Bay and following the closure of my favourite bakery in Rhos on Sea, (which used to make delicious honey buns), I was thrilled to find equally scrumptious honey buns at Cadwgan Bakery. I now live in Kent and get my Mum to post 4 to me whenever she can -they're THAT good. It's like being 12 all over again ( in a good way).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ukpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous cakes and sandwiches!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I visit here all the time when I'm in the area! Just second to none for the food and the friendly staff! Highly recommended this beautiful bakery! I always get a roll which is always full to the brim which is lovely after a hard days work and a lemon bun which are the best around! Would recommend to anyone!

Helpful?
2 Thank chloeebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cadwgan Bakery”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellent bakery. Not a restaurant.
Rolls,sandwiches,quiches,pies and other lunch time snacks available,hot or cold
Fabulous cakes freshly made and excellent bread. Very popular.
Honey buns a family favourite as well as the vanilla Danish pastries

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whittingtonx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bakery”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Well known locally for it's cream lemon buns, Cadwgan Bakery have a great range of Bread, Cakes and Pastries, all of them delicious!! I've probably sampled them all over the years. Well worth a visit.

Easy to find in the village just down from Aldi and our Wedding Shop, Vanilla Pod.

Try them, you'll be back soon!!

The poor hygiene rating mentioned?? Well I was there when the inspector arrived unannounced (as they should), as the owner was on her own in the shop as a result of staff illness, she couldn't accompany the inspector around and serve at the same time!!!! Typically, this was designated as being unwilling to permit an inspection, therefore a poor score was given. Can't these jobs-worths understand they can't just expect someone to close a business down while they are there. The place is always being cleaned!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bigpeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great cakes, and friendly service”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have used this bakery for years and have never had a bad cake!! We regularly order the birthday cakes as they remind us of the super sweet, sticky types from our childhood! Even our children love them now- better than the bland supermarket ones, and easier than making one yourself. We love the honey buns, which are a speciality and also the chelsea buns. The bread is fresh and tasty and would recommend getting there early. Yes, it does seem that the prices have increased maybe, but haven't they everywhere at the moment??? Definitely the best baker in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadwgan Bakery also viewed

Old Colwyn, Conwy County
 
Old Colwyn, Conwy County
Old Colwyn, Conwy County
 
Old Colwyn, Conwy County
Old Colwyn, Conwy County
 

Been to Cadwgan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing