We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“36 hour rehab”
Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gwytherin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a complete gem of a place. Pitch-perfect in the attention to detail without fussiness, the quality without pretention and the warmth of a welcome that made us feel instantly at home but was never forced, over the top or overwhelming. We arrived absolutely exhausted and in little over 36 hours felt more rested, relaxed and pampered than I can recall from many longer stays in pricier and allegedly more prestigious establishments. What was best was the complete dedication to genuine hospitality and the lack of corporate "slick" - we felt like guests not clients. Simply lovely - thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebeandoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We can wholeheartedly recommend the Lion Inn to everyone thinking of booking a stay.

We had a wonderful family weekend to celebrate a special Birthday, and fell in love with the place immediately.

Fiona and Tim are magnificent host`s and nothing was too much trouble. The locals are a lovely friendly bunch and we enjoyed the fare from the well stocked bar. Fiona is an amazing cook and we can certainly recommend the fabulous food, both the evening meal and breakfast.

The accomodation is excellent and well equipped with nothing neglected. Combine this with the stunning location, and 1st Class service, and it`s easy to see why the Lion Inn is so popular.

We shall definately return, fingers crossed for better weather, but that`s certainly something that`s out of Tim and Fiona`s hands.

Give the Lion Inn a visit, you won`t be disappointed.

Chris and Marian, Cleethorpes

Room Tip: We saw four of the rooms, and they were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

had a wonderful weekend. tim & fiona are terific host nothing is too much trouble the rooms are very clean and well presented,the food is excellent the locals are friendly and tim keeps a well stocked bar.just a word of warning be careful following the sat nav getting there but once there ime sure anyone will have a great time

Room Tip: having seen all the rooms they all look very similar ..........excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed for 1 night, which was not nearly long enough. What a fabulous place. After reading all the reviews I decided to book the Inn for our first night in Wales with the Canadian relatives, (tried to book 2 nights but Tim and Fiona do not open on Monday or Tuesday in Winter). Such a warm and friendly greeting, all the comforts of home. The meal in the evening was gorgeous, Mine hosts cannot do enough for you, and the accommodation is spotless. Will definitely return and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chic-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Having driven over 300 miles from Creagan House in Scotland to Gwytherin, we waited for about half an hour for the Inn to open and then discovered that they had lost our reservation.

The recommended alternative was a complete disappointment.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank drjohn_Galan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelioninn, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

SHAME ON WHO?

For any accommodation provider the nightmare of a double booking is a situation you trust will never happen. On a busy Sunday, having booked in 6 parties to our 6 rooms we were confronted by this Gentleman who believed that he had booked to stay with us. Initially we reeled back in horror that we had created such a situation, however as we frantically looked through our diary it became apparent that the simple truth was that this Gentleman had not confirmed a provisional booking he had made via email 5 months previous.

Reviewing those emails it is obvious that the Gentleman had to be fully aware that all he had provided us with was his name & phone number and despite having been asked, he had failed to provide full contact details and a booking deposit and as these had not been received within a reasonable period (at least 28 day) the booking was cancelled.

Regardless of blame we managed to get the Gentleman into a similar type of hotel nearby (Tripadvisor ranked no. 1 in Betws-y-Coed). This was also incidentally better placed for his onward travels.

It was this Gentleman's choice to make contact with us solely using the impersonal services of the Internet & having chosen this format it is obvious that there are some basic requirements that you need to adhere to.

I am at a loss to accept this Gentleman's attitude, he appears erudite and educated and based on his reviews he likes the sound of his own voice, yet he appears totally unable to accept that he might be the author of his own misfortune and he also appears to have exercised his wrath on the poor people we sent him to.

Compounding his total disregard for anyone else he claims that he had to wait 30 minutes for us to open, this is a nonsense, we clearly state that our normal booking in time is between 4 & 6pm, unless customers tell us differently, however on this occasion we were in all day & 6 other parties had booked in prior to his arrival!

Having said all this in future we will go the extra mile to ensure that this situation never occurs again, because no matter who is to blame this has been an unfortunate and upsetting experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

well having stayed for 1night at this wonderful hostelry life may never be the same again.After meeting the grand host,s Tim & Fiona, the 4 of us all agreed we had made a great choice.
The rooms where su------perb,warm cosy & spotlessly clean,the beer was a bit cloudy but i managed to force a few down & it seemed to get better as the night wore on(only joking)
Food cooked by Fiona was top knotch--both at evening meal & breakfast---& the service by Eleri,you would have thought she had been trained by Crufts(ha-ha)good luck at Aber Uni.
When we left on the Friday morning,we all said we should have stayed longer--so Tim & Fiona must be doing some-thing right.
Keep it up both of you--great time was had by all--cannot thank-you enough(please put cheque in post)
We will return,with more family

Room Tip: all rooms seemed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Food and Staff were excellent, Room clean and cosy., well equipped. Would recommend
Tim & Fiona made us so welcome and always attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodminGeoffB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: Gwytherin LL22 8UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Gwytherin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gwytherin
Price Range: £81 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Inn Gwytherin in beautiful Wales is a great place to come and eat fresh food, drink good wine and real ale and recharge your batteries. Close to Snowdonia it is a great centre from which to explore North Wales. Dating from the 16th century, but the bedrooms take their design cues from the 21st century - Wales Great Little Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Inn Gwytherin Hotel Gwytherin
The Lion Inn Gwytherin, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing