We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gwytherin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Imagine sitting by a crackling fire, the sounds of friendly voices and laughter bubbling through the rustic space as you drink to your hearts content, then being shown to a table to enjoy some of the best food imaginable, choose a DVD from an extensive library and come to rest in a warm inviting bedroom. Want this? Come to this place, Stunning in every way. Tim and Fiona have got everything right. Their skills as hosts unquestionable, made us feel "looked after" without intrusion, the food, the menu both outstanding, tried lots of the menu and now dream of it! The lamb, the steak, the fish - never eaten better. All the facilities are perfect and of a high standard. The area is beautiful and magical as was the whole of our stay and in no small part because of Tim and Fiona's amazing knack at making it all welcoming, warm and delicious. Thanks Tim, thanks Fiona, it was totally ace.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
124
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

You cannot help but feel very special when you stay at the Lion Inn. The hosts, Fiona and Tim do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible! Our room was woderful, warm, inviting, cosy, with all amenities, ensuite, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities (even biscuits) quiet. The food was amazing!! Fiona must have studied at the Cordon Bleu academy, her chicken, lamb and steak dinners were faultless. We cannot fault this lovely couple and their wonderful Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

After a long day of driving from London, traveling over the hills and through the woods to this tiny village, we found very inviting hosts. As everyone has said, Tim and Fiona are delightful in every way. On our request, we received restaurant and sightseeing recommendations, history of the area, and insight into Welsh living.

The accomodations were outstanding and everything was extremely tidy, cozy and in working order. The bathroom was of a good size and the bedroom, while tight, had an alcove with a small bed and chair where we could put our large suitcases. Little touches of consideration were everywhere (not all coffee/tea stations are equal!). A detailed map with photos of area trails was included along with all the details we needed for the inn, to include free wifi.

The fireplace area in the bar, which is the only public place in the whole village, was a gathering place for locals and a good place to watch the snow fall. Dinner was outstanding but not nearly as fabulous as breakfast. We had so many fresh, organic choices and really loved the homemade muesli. These were the best English breakfasts of our trip and the only ones that weren't greasy.

We also adored playing with Millie, their lovely English Springer Spaniel, who reminded us of our Springer back home. We highly recommend this inn, mostly because of the exceptional hosts who will help make your stay special.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEditor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for three nights over the New Year break and had a fantastic time. Fiona and Tim were brilliant from the start. The rooms were spotless and warm and cosy, but the highlight had to be the food. Fiona's cooking was out of this world and I haven't dared get on the scales yet. The location was great for exploring Snowdonia and as the weather was poor we went into Llandudno and Betwys y Coed. The atmosphere was very laid back so we certainly came back refreshed. The only tiny complaint was that we are real ale lovers so the beer on offer was a little disappointing but the real log fire made up for it. Well done Fiona and Tim and enjoy your well deserved break.

Room Tip: We stayed in Parsley, a room at the back with shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

we stayed for one night in between xmas and new year, im so glad we did, my elderly parents came with us and we couldn't of found anywhere more peaceful. Fiona and Tim treat you like old friends and make you feel very welcome, the rooms were spotlessly clean and importantly very warm, the food was excellent Fiona made sure your food was cooked exactly how you liked it[I have been to other inns but you didn't get the same attentive service] and the atmosphere was nice and relaxing with a roaring log fire,and local beers.I would rather of kept this place to myself but Fiona and Tim deserve our appreciation and our thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponthir
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

When the decision was made to travel from South to North Wales with friends for the Snowdon Marathon, we found The Lion Inn on the internet after a Sunday of much debate as to where we should stay. It was the one resting place upon which we could all agree and we were certainly not disappointed. Tim and Fiona were both very welcoming and clearly took great pride in the business they had created. The rooms themselves were very comfortable and tastefully done, we particularly enjoyed the robes and fresh tea and biscuits for both nights of our stay. Extras in the room such as an ipod dock, flat screen TV and blackout blinds all added to the experience. We were lucky enough to eat in house on our first night and were all delighted by the meal. Breakfast both mornings did not disappoint and all agreed that the local bacon was a treat. The pub itself was perfect with a large open fire and friendly locals, just perfect after a day walking or running in the very wet/windly mountains. We would not hesitate to recommend The Lion Inn to friends or family and have indeed already done so.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a complete gem of a place. Pitch-perfect in the attention to detail without fussiness, the quality without pretention and the warmth of a welcome that made us feel instantly at home but was never forced, over the top or overwhelming. We arrived absolutely exhausted and in little over 36 hours felt more rested, relaxed and pampered than I can recall from many longer stays in pricier and allegedly more prestigious establishments. What was best was the complete dedication to genuine hospitality and the lack of corporate "slick" - we felt like guests not clients. Simply lovely - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebeandoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gwytherin
6.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
9.9 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.3 mi away
Black Lion
Black Lion
#1 of 1 in Llanfair Talhaiarn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Property: The Lion Inn
Address: Gwytherin LL22 8UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Gwytherin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gwytherin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Inn Gwytherin in beautiful Wales is a great place to come and eat fresh food, drink good wine and real ale and recharge your batteries. Close to Snowdonia it is a great centre from which to explore North Wales. Dating from the 16th century, but the bedrooms take their design cues from the 21st century - Wales Great Little Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Inn Gwytherin Hotel Gwytherin
The Lion Inn Gwytherin, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing