We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic little place!”
Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gwytherin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've just returned home after spending two wonderful nights at The Lion Inn and we couldn't be happier with how well it went. The room was perfect and the breakfast was delicious! We'll definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the small double and it was more than enough for both of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We`ve just returned home from a wonderful weekend stay at the Lion Inn with my Brother and Sister in Law.
The hospitality extended by Fiona and Tim can`t be bettered and is matched by the stunning food and excellent accomodation.
Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel really special during your stay.
We had evening meals and breakfast at the Inn both nights and special dietary requirements were accomodated. All meals were outstanding in every respect, with timings adjusted to accomodate our needs.
The rooms are immaculate, well equipped and homely. We stayed in rooms named Parsley and Sage, both with lovely views of the fields to the rear. They`re a lovely place to recharge after a long day sightseeing in this beautiful area of Wales.
We also made the most of relaxing in the lovely bar and found a most friendly welcome from the locals. Elwyn, "Boy" and "The Squire" entertained us with stories about the tough life they endure as local farmers.
All in all the perfect weekend break. We can`t wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Our rooms were equipped with Baths and an overhead shower, but some rooms only have shower cubicles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break at The Lion Inn.. We had previously stayed in Betws y Coed, and wondered if we were making the right decision by staying further out into the countryside.. Good decision!! We were made to feel completely at home by both Tim and Fiona.. nothing was too much trouble! The room was beautifully decorated, immaculate in every way, and the definition of pure comfort!
We had booked a meal for the first night of our stay, the food was home cooked by Fiona, and truly delicious!.. The regular 'locals' of the area were really friendly and made us feel welcome.. We would not hesitate to recommend The Lion Inn to our family and friends, and I am already looking ahead to when we can plan our next visit!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Leanne-DarrenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have just returned from a short holiday at the Lion Inn with my husband and very elderly father. Tim and Fiona really couldn't have done more to make us welcome and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A special thanks to Fiona for going to so much trouble to make me some wonderful vegan meals. I think the spicy vegetables done in coconut milk was my favourite. Will happily recommend it to anyone looking for a well placed, relaxing holiday in a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: We couldn't have stayed in the room called the Bothy because my husband is disabled but it looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Last weekend I made a return visit to the Lion Inn with my daughter and we spent two nights at this very special place. There is a great welcome from Tim and both he and Fiona do their utmost to make your stay memorable. Fiona takes a lot trouble with the meals she prepares and uses local produce wherever possible.

Room Tip: Room Rosemary is over the bar area so can be noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Lion Inn and, from the warm welcome we received to the fond farewells after breakfast on our last day, Tim and Fiona were the perfect hosts. The Inn had such a relaxing feel, from sitting around the wonderful open fire with a drink in the bar to those amazing rooms with robes, TV, DVD and WiFi access - the room exceeded all our expectations. Fiona s use of locally sourced produce is a real winner, we had two wonderful meals during the course of our stay as well as those amazing cooked breakfasts.

The Lion Inn was an amazing find, we will return again on our next visit to Wales! Thank you Tim and Fiona

Tony and Jane

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swearly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at The Lion Inn. The B&B is situated in beautiful surroundings, a short drive from Snowdon, with a beautiful valley as backdrop.

We received a very friendly welcome from Tim, showing the room and facilities, including robes and also access to a large DVD library. Our room had our own balcony with fab views of the surrounding hills. The room was cosy, but spotlessly clean, with attractive furniture and comfortable bedding.

The Inn is run by Tim and Fiona and they have a very personal, welcoming approach. As it is a small Inn, with all the cooking done by Fiona, they require you to make bookings for dinner in advance, which is explained in detail in their welcoming email prior to arrival. They are very accommodating however and ensure all guests are looked after.

As a vegetarian I was nervous about menu choices, but Fiona discussed personal preferences with me and the food I had on both nights was excellent (desserts were also delicious!) and breakfast was great too.

The bar area is small and since the Inn is in a small village, there is not a wide range of ales on tap, but the bar staff and regular locals were friendly and welcoming.

Overall, we had a really relaxing stay, with friendly and welcoming hosts. If you want a break in a traditional inn, with very personal approach this is a great place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RRush_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: Gwytherin LL22 8UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Gwytherin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gwytherin
Price Range: £90 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Inn Gwytherin in beautiful Wales is a great place to come and eat fresh food, drink good wine and real ale and recharge your batteries. Close to Snowdonia it is a great centre from which to explore North Wales. Dating from the 16th century, but the bedrooms take their design cues from the 21st century - Wales Great Little Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Inn Gwytherin Hotel Gwytherin
The Lion Inn Gwytherin, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing